of Spit and Mud

Scripture: John 9: 5-7

 After saying this, he spit on the ground, made some mud with the saliva, and put it on the man’s eyes. “Go,” he told him, “wash in the Pool of Siloam.” (This word means “Sent”). So the man went and washed, and came home seeing.

Observation:

Jesus didn’t need to spit. He could have just said, open your eyes and see. He could have just gently touched his eyes or called down an army of angels to stir the healing waters.

 He could have healed so many ways…But he chose to paint healing with mud.

The God of all the universe used heavenly spit and mixed it with the down-and-dirty earth from which he first made man…  and He created again.

And in the process He got his own hands dirty.

Application:

My filth. My disease. My germ-ridden life is no match for my Maker. Never has been. Never will be.

… and He’s not afraid to get dirty to make me clean and new and whole.

Prayer:

Lord, I am so often blind, this day to day living can do that… can blur the vision, and dim the light. But I stand now, this moment, caked in the Truth of your love for me again, ready to wash up and live in the Light. Thanks for finding me,  for stopping for me. Thanks for listening and caring and seeing beyond the hurt. Thanks for spitting and using my mud to make something beautiful.

Help me live loved.

 “They overcame the world by the blood of the lamb and the word of their testimony.”

2 comments on “of Spit and Mud

  1. Sunny says:

    Well said Friend…<3

Leave a Reply

