My Dad, the Hovercraft

Version 2

 

Watering:

In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth. The earth was without form and void, and darkness was over the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters.

Watching :

In the beginning, God created… but first He hovered. My Dad, the first hovercraft.

When I think of creation, I usually think of the “And God said’s.” I think of His thought and His deed being a simultaneous BOOM of creation… But the Spirit of God was hovering. I wonder, Is this when He thought, planned, and got all those creative juices flowing?

A painter in front of his canvas,

a canvas without form and void and dark

…. a Creator creating.

And God hovered. He spent time before Time was even born! Eternity wrapped into His thoughts.

And in the hovering – the thinking – life’s magic began.

Wondering:

I’ve always been a thinker – hounded by them, buried by them, and in some seasons harassed by them.

Over the years, I’ve made peace with my Thinking Self. But quite honestly I’ve always felt a touch out of place. A misfit if you will.

Not quite belonging in a world that seems to carry on freely without as much as a thought in a crowded, hurried day.

Not quite feeling like I belonged to a Father who didn’t need to think … who just spoke.

Yet here it says, God hovered. He hovered! Before any beginnings began, He thought!

… Before my beginning, he hovered over me.

How precious to me are your thoughts,God!
How vast is the sum of them!
18 Were I to count them,
they would outnumber the grains of sand—
when I awake,I am still with you. (Psalm 139: 16-18)

Oh my stinkin’ gosh, I am my Father’s daughter!

Waiting:

Father, Abba, The great I AM, Immanuel, Jesus, Everything Good and True,  I am so glad you hovered. Thank you for creating me to be just exactly who I am – bombarded by thoughts and all. And today, my dear sweet Hovercraft Dad, let all my thoughts make you smile.

“He who forms the mountains, who creates the wind, and who reveals his thoughts to mankind, who turns dawn to darkness, and treads on the heights of the earth— the Lord God Almighty is his name.” (Amos 4:13)

DSCN3263.jpg

One comment on “My Dad, the Hovercraft

  1. geniecan says:

    love this Jane…so relate…there is a song I sing that I understand Mother Theresa’s sister’s sing when they take their vows: “Take Lord recieve all I have and possess, my memory understanding my entire will. Give me only your love and your grace, they’re enough for me, Your love and your grace are enough for me….” OH that we would do this each morning

Leave a Reply

