And God Rested

Watering:

Thus the heavens and the earth were finished, and all the host of them. And on the seventh day God finished his work that he had done, and he rested on the seventh day from all his work that he had done. So God blessed the seventh day and made it holy, because on it God rested from all his work that he had done in creation. (Gen. 2: 2-3)

Watching:

Done. Finished. Voila! … … And God saw everything that he had made, and behold, it was very good.

Then God rested.

Apparently God never does that. Rests, that is. That was the one and only day. All thought, all creation, all systems set, and dreams planned, all lives from beginning to end become known. Every star named, and quantum physic theorum executed. A nucluear explosion of Love… and God rested.

This no resting thing was a BIG deal.

Wondering:

What did God do that day of rest? How did He enjoy what He had just done? Climb Mt. Everest? Travel the depths of the ocean floor? Hang out with the lion and the lamb?

No, I’m pretty sure God spent it with His children, watching them enjoy His gift. Waiting for the next amazing ‘first’ that they would do or discover. God was, after all, a father… and I bet my whispering breath that He spent that day simply in the love with His children. Enjoying their ever-waking moment.

And He called it a blessed day. A holy day. A day worth memorializing forever,

…because it would be a long time before He would say, “It is finished” and rest again. (John 17:4)

Waiting:

Lord, I don’t rest well. Caught up in the busy-ness of all I think is important, I forget what truly is. Help me remember. Help me hang up my hat and just be. Help me recall, remember, re-create that sense of knowing that you finished what you started — even in me. I want to learn to rest in You and simply be part of creation that whispers, “I love you, and thank you”

… I don’t tell you nearly enough.

Daily Bible Reading

 

Leave a Reply

