In the To and Fro

Watering:

The Lord saw how great the wickedness of the human race had become on the earth, and that every inclination of the thoughts of the human heart was only evil all the time.The Lord regretted that he had made human beings on the earth, and his heart was deeply troubled. So the Lord said, “I will wipe from the face of the earth the human race I have created—and with them the animals, the birds and the creatures that move along the ground—for I regret that I have made them.But Noah found favor in the eyes of the Lord. Gen. 6: 5-8

Watching:

Sadness and regret and a heart deeply troubled… even God felt these emotions.

God is perfect, and He feels. He cries with us. He hurts with us. He gets angry at the same injustice we see. He yearns for us. He hopes and cheers for us. He is love, so of course he feels it all.

We are made in his image after all … and don’t we?

And to just to convince us – face to face, God to creation – He clothed himself in flesh to feel it all to a rugged cross.

But here’s the deal. Feelings are just that: feelings. They come. They go. They change… they just are. Like ribbons of air that swirl around us, what we feel can bump into mountains, be pushed to vapors, be driven to rise and form heavy-laden clouds. Feelings can rain. Or they can skirt past the obstacles and whip around our feet… Sometimes they just gently push the leaves of life along the way.

Feelings are not the enemy… but how we choose to act upon them can be. So the Lord gives us a tip.

“But Noah found favor …”

When God was discouraged with the wickedness of the human heart, he looked to and fro for someone to help get him out of his funk… and he found Noah. He found the rainbow.

Run to and fro through the streets of Jerusalem, look and take note! Search her squares to see if you can find a man, one who does justice and seeks truth, that I may pardon her.  (Jeremiah 4:24)

For the eyes of the Lord run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to give strong support to those whose heart is blameless toward him. (2 Chron. 16:9)

Wondering:

God is my father and my teacher. He speaks Truth that can touch and change me. And He reminds me that He is love itself.

Love “bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.” God bears and He endures. He feels! And just as he looked for beauty and faith, and a starlit soul that shone in the darkness, so can I. So can you.

When we are discouraged, he says, “Take courage.” When we are lost, he says, “I can be found of you.” When we need a way out, He says let me help. (1 Cor. 10:13) He guides us through the darkest valleys and is able to shows us the way out of any funk — God sends rainbows.

Waiting:

Jesus, there was a time I struggled long and hard with dark clouded emotions, so I know firsthand the enemy can lurk also in the “to and fros.”

The Lord said to Satan, “From where have you come?” Satan answered the Lord and said, “From going to and fro on the earth, and from walking up and down on it.” (Job 1:7)

So, be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walks about, (to and fro) seeking whom he may devour. (1 Peter 5:8)

But You watch over me, (Prov. 5:21), and guide me, and are able to make me stand. (Romans 14:4) You are faithful, even when I am faithless. You bring beauty in the ashes, starlight in the darkness and hope when all things fall away. And because I am my Father’s daughter I will learn from you.

I will look for your rainbows. I will look for the Noahs you send my way. And I will feel with every part of my heart and know that you do too.
Lead me deeper in you, Lord.

Leave a Reply

