On That Day

Watering:

In the six hundredth year of Noah’s life, on the seventeenth day of the second month—on that day all the springs of the great deep burst forth, and the floodgates of the heavens were opened. 12 And rain fell on the earth forty days and forty nights.13On that very day Noah and his sons, Shem, Ham and Japheth, together with his wife and the wives of his three sons, entered the ark…16Then the Lord shut him in.  Gen. 7: 11-16

Watching:

On that day the rain started, Noah entered… and then the Lord shut him in.

On that day, it was GOD that sealed the deal.

This whole plan, this whole dream, this whole acting on faith thing? It all hinged on the Lord sealing the deal. God got into the mud again…and isn’t that just like him?

God doesn’t spare himself from filth. It’s what He did when man was created. It’s what He did when His heavenly feet walked our earthly streets. It’s what He did so many times as He wrought his muddy miracles. He gets down and dirty. He seals us into His Love Ark while he patches our wounds, caulks our holes … and makes us safe.

He completes what he’s started in us. He finishes us and perfects us and completes his perfect plan in us until that very day.

“…because I know whom I have believed, and am convinced that he is able to guard what I have entrusted to him until that day.” (2 Tim. 1:12)

Wondering:

So what about me? What about this new year that looms ahead of me, the rain clouds brewing uncertain and unknown… Umm, how about just this day, Jane? This very day.

Honestly, I can’t even see past the nose on my face half the time… Seriously, why do I even try?

One step. One heart cry. One Word lit step at a time, walking with a God who is ever patient, ever kind, slow to anger, and who already sealed the deal in Jesus.

Everything else is just a cake walk in the mud.

Waiting:

Today Lord, while it is still called today, let me hear your voice. Help me keep my eyes on Jesus, my Ark,  the author and finisher of my faith.

His Words

DSCN1891

The one who calls you is faithful and he will do it. (1 Thes. 5:24)

Leave a Reply

