On the Road

Watering:

“But Saul, still breathing threats and murder against the disciples of the Lord, went to the high priest and asked him for letters to the synagogues at Damascus, so that if he found any belonging to the Way, men or women, he might bring them bound to Jerusalem. 3 Now as he went on his way, he approached Damascus, and suddenly a light from heaven shone around him. And falling to the ground he heard a voice saying to him, “Saul, Saul, why are you persecuting me?” And he said, “Who are you, Lord?” And he said, “I am Jesus, whom you are persecuting. But rise and enter the city, and you will be told what you are to do.”  (Acts 9)

Meanwhile… God talked with Ananias. Then Barnabas. Then…

Watching:

Saul had a bad rep with Jesus believers. He was zealous for what he believed to be truth and was willing to take prisoners for it. He was willing to see them killed. And everyone knew it…

Then in one instant, on his way to take more prisoners for his cause, Saul was brought to his knees, terrified, blinded and left helpless by a God who had a different path for him to walk. A far-sighted God who pulls no punches. A matter of fact God who merely needed to say: “I am Jesus, whom you are persecuting, now get up and go… and I’ll talk to you later.”

And while Saul was stewing, God brought together his own spiritual makeover crew. 

Wondering:

God’s still in the business of makeovers.

It’s so easy to get caught up with life and find our way on that Damascus road again, with our own zealous agendas taking front and center. It’s easy still to take prisoners with our words and attitude.

We need His band of warriors to willingly speak Truth into our lives, and brave the waters of standing along side us through the thick and thin.

We still so desperately need God to stop us in our tracks, lovingly blind us with His light, and help us wait on Him again.

Waiting:

Jesus,  I know there is no condemnation to those who are in you, but that doesn’t mean I couldn’t use a good makeover now and again – everyday for that matter.

So I’m just saying right here and now:  If my thoughts, words, deeds persecute your lifesaving name stop me cold, would you? Take off my sunglasses, let me be changed by your light.

I know I can’t do this Life Walk on my own, Lord. So send out the crew when you need to, and thank you for them.

Thank you for taking me on down the road.

His Word

P1000566

I will open rivers on the bare heights, and fountains in the midst of the valleys. I will make the wilderness a pool of water, and the dry land springs of water. (Is. 41:18)

Leave a Reply

