What Do You Want?

 Watering:

 And throwing off his cloak, he (another blind man) sprang up and came to Jesus. And Jesus said to him, “What do you want me to do for you?” And the blind man said to him, “Rabbi, let me recover my sight.”  And Jesus said to him, “Go your way; your faith has made you well.” And immediately he recovered his sight and followed him on the way.  (Matthew 20)

Watching:

Jesus was always asking those that came to him, “What would you have me do?”

The God of all creation was asking, “What do you want me to do for you?”

Um, well I’m blind, here, Lord… soooo, isn’t it obvious? I mean you’re God, right?and you’re asking me? Don’t you know?

But, maybe that IS the point; maybe we only think we know.

Like the mom who asked Jesus for her sons to sit on either side of him in his kingdom, He gently says “you don’t know what you’re asking for” … that blessing comes with a bigger price tag than you imagine, Mom.

We’re poor and we’re needy, and there is always -and will be always – something to ask for.

… Maybe He’s hoping we would just want Him?

Wondering:

I know the Lord cares for us…  for me. He’s a father that wants to give us the world.  He wants us to come to him will ALL our cares and all our concerns and lay them down – never to be picked up again.

But at what point do I realize that my wants are as fleeting as the steam rising from a rain puddle on a storm-drenched street. Wants morph to new wants that morph to newer wants that morph back to another storm, another puddle of endless wants.

Seek ye first the kingdom of God and all these things, all the ‘stuff’ we hold so important will be added… icing on the cake as it were. Lavish gifts from a Dad who only wants to bless with pools of living water that will not vaporize in the scorching sun.

But the amazing clincher here? Jesus asked him. He was the one who jumped up in his darkness and came in front of the Great I am with great hope… but it was Jesus who asked him. He answered with what He knew in his core Jesus could give him.

Yet the only thing he DID was answer the question! He simply answered the question. His faith sprang up in audacious hope and met with God’s ability and His desire to heal.

He answered God’s question and His faith made him well. 

What do you want?

Waiting:

Father, I will always come to you. I know that is your heart for me, not against me and that you want to give me all good things. But Lord, you are asking me “What do you want?” and so, right here and right now,  I’m saying, “I just want you, Jesus.” Teach my heart, help my heart, to only want you.

More words to water

Leave a Reply

