To Infinity and Beyond

Watering His Word:

For God said, “Lest the people change their minds when they see war and return to Egypt.” 18 But God led the people around by the way of the wilderness toward the Red Sea. And the people of Israel went up out of the land of Egypt equipped for battle. (Exodus 13: 17)

25 You shall serve the Lord your God, and he[a] will bless your bread and your water, and I will take sickness away from among you. 26 None shall miscarry or be barren in your land; I will fulfill the number of your days. 27 I will send my terror before you and will throw into confusion all the people against whom you shall come, and I will make all your enemies turn their backs to you. 28 And I will send hornets before you, which shall drive out the Hivites, the Canaanites, and the Hittites from before you. 29 I will not drive them out from before you in one year, lest the land become desolate and the wild beasts multiply against you. 30 Little by little I will drive them out from before you, until you have increased and possess the land.

Watching:

God just rescued His people from 430 years of slavery. He could have led them straight to the promised land. He could have given them the Mercedes before they had even learned to drive. He could have made it easy…but He led them through the wilderness instead.

He brought them out: equipped but wandering. Not a lost wandering, but a guided one. Not a hopeless wandering, but a growing up one.

He brought them out of slavery to learn to trust the One that leads.

He led them, provided for them, taught them for as long as it took for them to wring the slavery from their hearts. Little by little, step by step … readying them to possess the land he promised them.

Wondering:

God doesn’t change. He leads me still. Little by little. Step by step. Taking as long as it takes to wring the slavery from my heart. Slavery to fear. Slavery to regret. Slavery to all the ways I’ve let my feet stumble along the way.

He is my Good Shepherd. He equips me with everything I need along this “wandering path”… His rod. His staff. His word to light my way. He never leaves me. He never forsakes me. He strengthens me for battle. He leads me. He guides me. He holds my every step. He prepares a place for me beyond, even has he sets a table for me in the presence of my enemies in the here and now.

From strength to strength, little by little, step by step, He leads me on. Always to the Cross… and then always beyond.

Waiting:

Jesus, thank you for putting up with all of me. I will follow after all of you.

images

Leave a Reply

