Smoke and Mirrors

Watering:

One night the Lord spoke to Paul in a vision:“Do not be afraid;keep on speaking, do not be silent. 10 For I am with you,and no one is going to attack and harm you, because I have many people in this city.” 11 So Paul stayed in Corinth for a year and a half, teaching them the word of God. (Acts 18:9-11)

Watching:

It’s not easy to think of Paul as being afraid. We’re so used to seeing this man as outspoken and fearless, facing friend and foe with unwavering boldness. But Jesus knew better, so He spoke peace to Paul: “Don’t be afraid.”

God speaks to our inner selves… the selves that no one else sees, the selves sometimes even we don’t recognize or acknowledge.

God knows us.

Wondering:

Everyone has a story. Everyone has that hidden self too. And everyone needs a Father to step into their circumstance and reassure them that they are not alone – to simply know that He sees.

Honestly, I don’t know about you, but there have been those seasons when I’ve spent so much stinkin’ time creating illusions with myself and others.

But it’s truth that sets me free. Truth that sees past the smoke and mirrors — and sees into me. Truth, Himself, bringing me to my knees – helping me find my true need again.

Waiting:

Lord, you know me. You know the inner me. You know me better than I know myself, so I’m trusting in you. I’m trusting you to fashion me into a chosen vessel, a vessel of honor… a clay pot molded by your hand – scraped, bent, pulled. Sometimes set out to dry. Sometimes fired in the furnace of your love. Made for flowers, or food, water … or waste. A vessel designed in your vision. Softened in the water of your word.

More Words to Water

P1000373

Leave a Reply

