Chutzpah – ‘hoot-spə: shameless audacity’

Watering:

On the third day a wedding took place at Cana in Galilee.Jesus’ mother was there, and Jesus and his disciples had also been invited to the wedding. When the wine was gone, Jesus’ mother said to him, “They have no more wine.”

“Woman,why do you involve me?”Jesus replied. “My hour has not yet come.”

His mother said to the servants, “Do whatever he tells you.”

(John 2: 1-11)

Watching:

This first miracle wasn’t a small thing… it was big one.  Jesus wasn’t addressing a small “Hey wouldn’t this be nice” kind of want,  he was addressing a need that shouted, “Oh my gosh, without God’s help we’re hosed!” To run out of wine at their daughter’s wedding would have been a mark of deep shame; the marriage from the beginning would have worn a blemish.

This wasn’t a small, superfluous request… it was a biggie.

I’m not sure if Mary had anything in mind when she asked Jesus to get involved. She just knew he could do something.

But I also have to wonder if this was a prayer for Mary too: A mother’s hope to see her son come into his own before her eyes. I wonder if she had been just itching to nudge her son into what she knew would be greater things than what she had seen so far. I wonder if she counted this as her duty as a mom to nudge. That’s a mom’s duty, right?… to nudge?

Or did all the things she had hidden in her heart about her son since that Bethlehem night just come bubbling to the surface spilling out, “Enough is enough! Do this for me. Do this for them. This is important. You can. You know it. So do it.”

Mary’s living, breathing prayer, matter-of-fact prayer.

Would the wedding have been a disaster without her prayer?

Was God waiting on Mary’s faith?

***

God’s not blind. He saw the need. He sees ours.

God was at work. And He let Mary in on it. He was orchestrating a symphony of magnanimous proportions

… and He still does.

Because despite everything, God is always working things together for Good to all us earthen vessels called for His purpose.

Miracles in clay pots.

And will not God bring about justice for his chosen ones, who cry out to him day and night? Will he keep putting them off? I tell you, he will see that they get justice, and quickly.

However, when the Son of Man  comes,will he find faith on the earth?” (Luke 18:7-8)

Wondering:

Is God waiting on me?

What am I noticing that I think He should see (and He does) but He’s waiting on me…and, foolishly I think I’m waiting on Him.

What is nudging my heart for others that just needs some Jewish mother chutzpah?

Waiting:

If I am looking only at MY needs, then I am missing out on seeing God work before my eyes. God already knows what I have need of.

Seek ye first, Jane, the kingdom of God and I’ll take care of you. Make your plea for others. Fan into flame the gift that I have already placed inside you. … I’m  looking for bold, knowing, unafraid children — brazen enough to trust my love, confounding foolishness – audacity to trust me at my  word.

More Word to water

DSCN1574

Leave a Reply

