Could This Be?

Watering:

 Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, 14 but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst.Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

15 The woman said to him, “Sir, give me this water so that I won’t get thirsty and have to keep coming here to draw water.”

16 He told her, “Go, call your husband and come back.”

17 “I have no husband,” she replied.

Jesus said to her, “You are right when you say you have no husband. 18 The fact is, you have had five husbands, and the man you now have is not your husband. What you have just said is quite true.”

19 “Sir,” the woman said, “I can see that you are a prophet. 20 Our ancestors worshiped on this mountain, but you Jews claim that the place where we must worship is in Jerusalem.”

21 “Woman,” Jesus replied, “believe me, a time is coming when you will worship the Father neither on this mountain nor in Jerusalem. 22 You Samaritans worship what you do not know; we worship what we do know, for salvation is from the Jews. 23 Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in the Spirit and in truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks. 24 God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in the Spirit and in truth.”

25 The woman said, “I know that Messiah” (called Christ) “is coming. When he comes, he will explain everything to us.”

26 Then Jesus declared, “I, the one speaking to you—I am he. (John 4: 4-26)

Watching:

Jesus knew how to stop and rest and wait. He had spent his thirty years of life, listening, waiting, serving quietly. Bottom line, He knew how to hear the Father’s voice.

… and He was never in a rush.

Here’s a woman – a Samaritan at that – and the Messiah, the Christ, the begotten One, asks her for water. Unheard of. Crazy.

Then after all the amazing revelation of the kind of water HE could give her if she knew, she asks for His living water! BUT (take note) He doesn’t shout, “Glory, Hallelujah. Let’s sign her up.” He asks her to do something. I wonder … was He probing to see if she’d tell him the truth? And when she does, He tells her the real truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth… about her life.

She must have felt ashamed and bewildered at the same time. ‘He knows my sin, and yet still he stays and talks to me… Me, a woman, a Samaritan, a sinner. Who IS this guy?’

And then her questions come — and Jesus still doesn’t rush away. (How many men in her life had?) He answers her every one… because Jesus? He’s not put off by questions, or festering sores…and He’s never in a rush. And then his disciples return and so she slips away to tell her peeps…

“He told me everything I ever did. Could this be the Messiah?”

She wasn’t sure yet. She doesn’t need to be. She knows what she knows for today. And for now, it’s enough … Seeds don’t sprout over night, ya know.

But apparently, for now her story IS enough because:

 “Many of the Samaritans from that town believed in him because of the woman’s testimony, “He told me everything I ever did.” (John 4:39-42)

Truth is truth is truth. (And I would bet my bottom dollar of it, that this woman was one of the hundreds whom Jesus appeared to after He rose.)

Because Jesus is the Truth… and He sets people free.

Wondering:

Jesus didn’t rush with me.

I think slowly. I always have. When there’s a test, I’m always the last one done. ALWAYS. Took me forever to not feel shame. To not feel rushed. To know that being last was okay – to know that slow didn’t equal dumb, but maybe instead…purposeful care.)

This Samaritan woman, like me, was given a chance to see her sin for what it was: a need for a Savior. A cavity needing a filling. A truth needing a bigger, greater “Trumps All Truth” Truth.

Jesus wasn’t in a hurry. A patient angler, he waited… and wooed – reaching for my heart.

And then He showed me everything I ever did… and He stayed.

He loved me despite my sin. He loved me past my sin… and then He soared with me on a resurrection journey beyond my sin.

He cleaned out this heart’s little wishing well, and filled it with living water. Forever.

Waiting:

Jesus, sometimes I forget. Forget your patience. Forget your purpose-filled care. Keep showing me deeper waters. My well so often needs cleaning out and digging deeper to keep it running true. Help me go deeper but Lord, please remind me, never to be in a rush with others. There’s no need. They don’t need a quick fix of water that doesn’t matter. They need you… living water… and you’re never in a rush.

More of His Word to water

DSCN0969

Leave a Reply

