Both

Watering:

 10 When you have eaten and are satisfied, praise the Lord your God for the good land he has given you. 11 Be careful that you do not forget the Lord your God, failing to observe his commands, his laws and his decrees that I am giving you this day. 12 Otherwise, when you eat and are satisfied, when you build fine houses and settle down, 13 and when your herds and flocks grow large and your silver and gold increase and all you have is multiplied, 14 then your heart will become proud and you will forget the Lord your God, who brought you out of Egypt, out of the land of slavery. 15 He led you through the vast and dreadful wilderness,that thirsty and waterless land, with its venomous snakes and scorpions. He brought you water out of hard rock.16 He gave you manna to eat in the wilderness, something your ancestors had never known, to humble and test you so that in the end it might go well with you. 17 You may say to yourself, “My power and the strength of my hands have produced this wealth for me.” 18 But remember the Lord your God, for it is he who gives you the ability to produce wealth, and so confirms his covenant, which he swore to your ancestors, as it is today. (Deut. 8: 10-18)

***

 And now, Israel, what does the Lord your God ask of you but to fear the Lord your God, to walk in obedience to him, to love him, to serve the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul, 13 and to observe the Lord’s commands and decrees that I am giving you today for your own good?

14 To the Lord your God belong the heavens, even the highest heavens, the earth and everything in it.15 Yet the Lord set his affection on your ancestors and loved them, and he chose you, their descendants, above all the nations—as it is today.16 Circumcise your hearts, therefore, and do not be stiff-necked any longer. 17 For the Lord your God is God of gods and Lord of lords, the great God, mighty and awesome, who shows no partiality and accepts no bribes. 18 He defends the cause of the fatherless and the widow, and loves the foreigner residing among you, giving them food and clothing. 19 And you are to love those who are foreigners, for you yourselves were foreigners in Egypt. 20 Fear the Lord your God and serve him. Hold fast to him and take your oaths in his name. 21 He is the one you praise; he is your God, who performed for you those great and awesome wonders you saw with your own eyes. 22 Your ancestors who went down into Egypt were seventy in all, and now the Lord your God has made you as numerous as the stars in the sky.  (Deut. 10: 12-22)

Watching:

The people of Israel had wandered a long time. For forty years they faced inner giants: need, want, and all the old “greener pastures” giants. Now they were about to enter into promised land. Promised and amazing – but not heaven. There were new giants, different giants… all those terrible “unknown” giants.

Yet, hadn’t God proved his love and his unmatched magni-giantness on their behalf…over and over and back again?

So now, He gives reminders to the people of Israel. Sticky notes. Write this down on your hearts instructions: DON’T FORGET.

Don’t forget I love you. Don’t forget I’ve led you to this place. Don’t forget, I want to bless you… but blessings can pack a punch if you’re not careful. So, be glad. Be thankful. Be free… but don’t forget who is your God, and serve no other… because I love you. And I have called you by name.

Wondering:

I am a sinner, stained and blemished, saved from a fate I deserved. Saved by a love-scarred lamb. Saved by grace alone, not by anything I have done to try to earn my way. Ever.

I am a daughter of the Lord God Almighty, maker of heaven and earth. Clothed in a wedding gown, made shining white by a layed down Life that paid its price. Set in the heavenlies. His little princess, the apple of his eye, living free… with irrevocable access to his lap.

I am sinner and I am daughter.

 

I am both.

And in both

I am beloved.

Waiting:

Father, thank you for your sticky notes. Etch them deep into my heart.

In the desert I am led and fed. In the promised land, I make my bed because you bled.

In both lands there are giants – different tactics but the same enemy who wants to kill, steal and destroy. In both realities, I need you. In both I WILL REMEMBER: You are God… and I will serve you, and you alone.

More Word to water

DSCN1430

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

