Beyond this Milk

Watering:

Brothers and sisters, I could not address you as people who live by the Spirit but as people who are still worldly—mere infantsin Christ. I gave you milk, not solid food,for you were not yet ready for it. Indeed, you are still not ready. You are still worldly. For since there is jealousy and quarreling among you, are you not worldly? Are you not acting like mere humans? (1 Cor: 3)

Watching:

Jealousy and quarreling … mere humanity – “child” stuff.

The opposite of jealousy = being content with what you have.

The opposite of quarreling = knowing who and what is right and fair and true.

Wondering:

Every time I read this passage, I see little kids grabbing from one another screaming, “Mine!” Every time I see the same kids, looking enviously at the kid with the rainbow colored ice cream cone, as they look down suddenly dissatisfied with their own vanilla one. Every time I get upset with the people of Corinth: Paul is only giving them milk, ’cause they can’t handle solid food… and because of them we are given less! Hey, I want solid food! I want to hear everything that was in Paul’s heart to share. I want to interview him and sit at his feet, pick his brain and ‘go deeper’… How dare they ruin that for me!

… But then I realize: I’m that little jealous, anger driven girl. Mostly what I’m wanting is time and inspiration and ‘nuggets’ just to have and to hoard. Mostly I’m wanting the firsthand scoop for no other reason than wanting others to be jealous of me and what I know. I’m wanting truth that stands alone, yes, but so I can sit all smugly righteous with what I’ve learned – and maybe other will try to argue with me! Geesh… I need to stick with milk.

It’s not about me. It’s about Him and who He loves. It’s not even about building with the pride of having ‘the best materials’ (ie: gold verses hay, straw or stubble)… It’s about building what will LAST. Building a refuge for others against the huff and puff of the enemy’s dark chinny-chin chin.

It’s GOD that builds the house anyway.

It’s GOD that grows the plant.

It’s not about what I know, it’s about who He is.

Paul’s great, and I would have loved to learn what I could from him. But, truth is, I still can. And better yet, I have audience – full backstage access – to the ONE who walked on water, the ONE who stormed hell’s gate, the ONE who rides on the rays of morning light.

I have nothing to be jealous of, nothing of my own to argue in puffed up pride.

He is all. And I am whole.

… and quite incredulously, He has made me His temple and I can worship and learn at his feet.

… maybe even some solid food beyond this milk? (This girl can only hope… 🙂 )

Waiting:

Lord, you made this me, this temple worthy. The thought boggles my mind. Keep cleaning. Keep restoring. Keep remodeling. Always keep me ready for more of you.

More Word to water

P1030073

Leave a Reply

