The Not so Ordinary

Watering:

The LORD appeared to Abraham near the great trees of Mamre while he was sitting at the entrance to his tent in the heat of the day. (Genesis 18:1)

Watching:

Abraham wasn’t visited by the Lord in any fancy place. And he wasn’t doing anything remarkable. He was sitting. In front of his house. Probably hot and bored.

Then when he saw the Lord… he served.

Wondering:

God is found in the ordinary days of life.

If I let myself look, watch and even dare to expect,  I just may see the extraordinary standing at my step.

And if my default mode is to serve in those ordinary, less than glamorous ways, doing everything “as unto to Him”… then Jesus says He will remember.

…Turns out doing laundry and cleaning toilets is important enough after all.

Waiting:

Lord, help me embrace the ordinary, so I may serve the extraordinary. And help me serve the ordinary, so that I may embrace the extraordinary…..

More Word to Water

P1030004

 

 

Leave a Reply

