Finish Strong

Watering:

Now finish the work, so that your eager willingness to do it may be matched by your completion of it, according to your means. For if the willingness is there, the gift is acceptable according to what one has, not according to what one does not have.  (2Cor:8:11)

Watching:

The Corinthians were running a good race. Their coach was proud. But they needed a little boost- – a re-energizing, re-aligning pep talk: “Good job. Keep going. You’re doing great. Finish strong.”

Wondering:

I often start off strong. I get a dream, a big idea, a larger than life project, and Wham! I’m off and running… Then down the line (and I hate to admit how quickly) I peter out. The ending can often feel so far away. Without a coach running along side, or teammates cheering from the dugout, Hope easily fades. And unfortunately, Life doesn’t always afford us the luxury of personal trainers in the wings to bolster our weakened resolve.

But if we listen,

if we quiet ourselves,

If. We. Wait… (and often when we just simply obey)

… we will hear the Lord, going before us, watching behind us, whispering comfort each step along side our way: “You can do this. Run with me. We can do this. Let’s finish strong.”

Waiting:

Father, help me to hear your coaching voice. Help me to listen and take to heart those words that are just for me. There’s so much to learn, so many ways to run a better race… so many ways I fall. Yet you always pick me up, dust me off and I hear you gently say, ” Run your race, Jane. No one else’s. You can do this. We can do this. Keep going. Let’s finish strong.

More Word to water

 

DSCN2221

2 comments on “Finish Strong

  1. Beth says:

    This so ministered to my heart this morning. Thank you so much Jane for your heart and your willingness to share. Maybe we can chat Monday night:-)

Leave a Reply

