Bury your dead in a fox’s den

P1000566

Watering:

When Jesus saw the crowd around him, he gave orders to cross to the other side of the lake. Then a teacher of the law came to him and said, “Teacher, I will follow you wherever you go.”

Jesus replied, “Foxes have dens and birds have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head.”

Another disciple said to him, “Lord, first let me go and bury my father.”

But Jesus told him, “Follow me, and let the dead bury their own dead.” (Matt. 8:18-22)

Watching:

Jesus was always amazing people with His responses to them. (Half the time, they weren’t even asking!) Sometimes He responds in questions, sometimes statements, most often stories. But always – in all ways – they are directed at the heart.

Jesus is not flippant in his answers. They are not evasive. They are not meant to reject or push away – quite the opposite. Jesus is always challenging the heart to come, to seek, to ask! Man looks on the outside, and God looks at the heart. So Jesus reaches for spirit and truth …and goes straight to the heart of the matter.

“I will follow you, anywhere, Lord.”

Ah yes, but I know your heart focuses on home and rest. I have neither. My home is with my Father and I won’t rest until I find all my sheep … can you hang with that?

“Let me bury my Father first, Lord.”

Friend, Death is inevitable, but Life moves on. You are dealing with one, or you’re dealing with another. You cannot deal with both… will you choose me, Life, uncertain incredible moving-on-leaving-behind Life? or will you lose yourself in the past?

Wondering:

And so I wonder… what straight to the heart response would Jesus answer me? What question am I not even knowing that my heart is needing an answer? What statement might I say, that He would redirect?

And most importantly…can I let my answer be found solely in Him?

Waiting:

Oh Lord, you know. You see my heart. Let your life answer every part of my being.

More Word to Water

P1000566

Leave a Reply

