Sandwich Hug

Watering:

 As the ark of the Lord was entering the City of David, Michal daughter of Saul watched from a window. And when she saw King David leaping and dancing before the Lord, she despised him in her heart… After he had finished sacrificing the burnt offerings and fellowship offerings, he blessed the people in the name of the Lord Almighty… and when David returned home to bless his household, Michal daughter of Saul came out to meet him and said, “How the king of Israel has distinguished himself today, going around half-naked in full view of the slave girls of his servants as any vulgar fellow would!”

David said to Michal, “It was before the Lord, who chose me rather than your father or anyone from his house when he appointed me ruler over the Lord’s people Israel—I will celebrate before the Lord. I will become even more undignified than this, and I will be humiliated in my own eyes. But by these slave girls you spoke of, I will be held in honor.” And Michal daughter of Saul had no children to the day of her death.

“Do you refuse to speak to me?” Pilate said. “Don’t you realize I have power either to free you or to crucify you?”

There they crucified him, and with him two others—one on each side and Jesus in the middle.

Watching:

Michal was sandwiched between pride and jealousy – between a blessing and a curse. David was returning to bless her and she didn’t even know it.

Pilate was sandwiched between his conscience and the crowd – between personal doubts and perceived authority. Merely washing his hands, he was left unable to wash his heart.

Jesus was sandwiched between one who believed, and one who mocked – between one whose life choices had softened his heart and one who had let them harden and blind. Condemned criminals both, given last minute game-winning baskets to shoot.

And bottom line: Jesus was ready and willing to give victory to all.

Wondering;

Bible days. Modern days. Our choices to what Life throws at us remain the same…

At any given point in time:

* I’m Michal:  jealous, self-righteous, embarrassed by the backlash of a loved one’s actions — ready to open my mouth in hurtful complaints. (And I wonder now, what blessings do I miss when I forget to first give my heart (and my words) to the Lord to make His own?)

* I’m Pilate:  fueled by the public swelling of opinion – pro or con, it doesn’t matter, the stink of misplaced authority is the same — caught in my own battles of doubt, ready to jump to misguided action just to have a matter finished. (And I wonder now, how might God rewrite the scene if I give Him half a chance to lead?)

* I’m the disillusioned criminal: hardened and blind, clinging to hurt– ready to wear anger and pain as leaden shields of misplaced grief. (And I wonder now, what view of paradise do I miss when I hold on to pain rather than reach for grace, mercy and forgiveness?)

At any given point in time, I am a sinner lodged between The Rock of Ages and a hardened place of my soul.

So can I say (again) how stinkin’ thankful I am for Jesus!… because, beyond all unfathomable reason: this wretched sinner is saved from myself, saved by grace!

Saved by the One true God, the one mediator (sandwiched) between God and mankind – the man Christ Jesus who gave himself as a ransom for all people. (1 Tim. 2: 3-5)

You can’t get THAT at Subway! 😉

Waiting:

Jesus,  I rest hugged in your arms of love. Let your gentle squeeze welcome death to all things ugly. Let your embrace help me look for Resurrection-powered Life.

 More Word to water:

 

P1000920

 

Leave a Reply

