In the Everydays

Watering:

In the spring, at the time when kings go off to war, David sent Joab out with the king’s men and the whole Israelite army. They destroyed the Ammonites and besieged Rabbah. But David remained in Jerusalem. (2 Samuel 11:1)

Watching:

It was spring.

David was a king.

He was supposed to go off to war.

Ho hum, another war… another sure victory,… let’s see, what else is happening?

Disillusioned? Bored? … or was David just a gorged stomach after a Thanksgiving feast? Power full, victory stuffed…ready for some football and a nap.

Regardless the reason, David sent someone else to fight his battle. Someone else to win his war.

Someone else to do what he should have been doing…

David stayed behind.

Wondering:

Much is made of David’s subsequent decisions surrounding Bathsheba – the juicy tabloid news. But it seems that real problems always start way sooner, more quietly, more internally — more root like.

Problems always start in the Everydays, the day ins and the day outs… deciding to put our hand to the plow, or opting to stay behind.

And that’s the thing, isn’t it? I could no more pick apart David’s fall than he could pick apart any of mine. Because only God sees our heart… the very depths of the Everydays that makes me, me — and makes you, you…

Where can I go from your Spirit?
    Where can I flee from your presence?
If I go up to the heavens,you are there;
    if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
    if I settle on the far side of the sea,
even there your hand will guide me,
    your right hand will hold me fast. (Psalm 139)

And it doesn’t matter weather our Everydays are full of victory or despair, excitement or boredom, everything fulfilling or everything on hold… God waits for us.

His right hand holds us fast to keep us from falling.

Waiting:

Father, you know the depths of my heart, and you love me the same. In all my Everydays, Lord, help me keep my hand to the plow.

More Word to Water

K7A1434F70FC78_1001426

Leave a Reply

