Landmarks

Watering:

When Jacob awoke from his sleep, he thought, “Surely the LORD is in this place, and I was not aware of it.

Watching:

Up to this point, Jacob has been guarded and guided by his mom, Rebekah. Now he is hearing from God for himself in a dream – a dream that scares him, but one he also wants to believe.

… And so begins his journey with the Lord:

a vision,

a rash, big vow,

and a landmark to return to.

Wondering and Waiting:

“Surely God is in this place and I was not aware of it.”

Lord, you and I started on this journey many years ago, and all along the way there have been landmarks fashioned by your hand, landmarks I can return to:

places where your promises rang true and I was comforted

places where I fell to my knees, awestruck by your power

places where you gently nudged and said, “I’m here, Jane, I’m here.”

But there are so many places still, even now Lord, where Life crowds out Your touch with the shoving presence of its own busy-ness and craziness and leaves me reeling in a spirit-sickness of lost focus.

I must stop.

I must remember.

I must remind my truest self: You are in this place. And that not only is enough. But it is everything.

Waiting:

Lord, help me be more aware of you all along the way, this day. this moment. this season. Help me see and hear your presences more quickly, more surely… and, Jesus, thank you for my landmarks along the way.

Leave a Reply

