Snuggling Closer

Watering:

Because of the increase of wickedness, the love of most will grow cold, but the one who stands firm to the end will be saved. (Matthew 24)

Watching:

Because of the increase of wickedness, the love of most will grow cold.  The love of most. Not a few, not some… but most.

Most.

Wondering:

I’m not going to lie, this Scripture scares me

…because suddenly I’m at the Last Supper, feasting, learning, dreaming of glory days about to be. And then Life stops as my Every Hope says: “Tonight, one of you is going to betray me…” And I’m one of the disciples, with exceeding sorrow looking into the eyes of the One who would know,

            ” … Lord, is it I? ”

Will it be me whose love grows cold?

…because suddenly I’m rising up with Peter, empowered with passion, “Lord, not me, I will never deny you…”

Will it be me who chills beneath Wicked’s growing glare?

…because suddenly I wake with the echo of the rooster’s crow, and see myself dealing with the behavior of yet another “kids these days” – disrespectful and apathetic – acting out as I turn to listen to the drug-leashed parent glaring from behind hazy dilated eyes – the one who can no longer give a rip – telling me all I’m doing wrong

… because suddenly I sense it

the icy danger nipping at my cooling heart

Waiting:

Oh sweet Jesus, help me be the one

the who stands

firm until the end

the one who sees the darkening clouds of wickedness increase

and snuggles near your flame even closer

letting grace increase instead

grace for the one who’s looking

who’s searching

the one who’s waiting for life to make sense and emptiness to be filled

the one who spits and curses

mocks and crucifies

testing, tempting, trying

— looking at me to see if your love is real

if your love is sure

if your love is wickedproof

Love enough to warm a chilly heart

Love enough to keep a fire burning bright and hot and true

Love enough for them

true and firm

to the end

More Word to water

P1000863

Leave a Reply

