For the Quiet One

Watering:

Now about your love for one another we do not need to write to you, for you yourselves have been taught by God to love each other. Yet we urge you, brothers and sisters, to do so more and more,and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life: You should mind your own business and work with your hands, just as we told you, so that your daily life may win the respect of outsidersand so that you will not be dependent on anybody. (1 Thes 4:9-12)

Watching:

Lead a quiet life. Make it an ambition …Validation for the Quiet ones.

Wondering:

I’m not an extrovert… but I have lived my whole life feeling like I needed to be one.

“Be brave.”

“Be bold.”

“Get out of your comfort zone.”

Only a few understand firsthand that often just. showing. up. is the bravest, boldest, most “out of our comfort zone” thing us Introverts can do. It often seems that tending to your own business, putting your effort to the work at hand, leading a quiet life (in this Anything-but-Quiet world) is so un.. un.. un American, and (dare I say…) can sometimes be made to feel un-Christian?

I am not saying to not reach beyond ourselves and our ‘limitations’ to a dying world – not even in the least. Because I believe with my whole heart that

we can to all things through Christ who strengthens us

and His grace IS sufficient, because in our weakness He IS made strong,

and I can even learn (even in my introverted ways) to BOAST in my weakness. (2 Cor. 12:9)

…But here, in this letter to a people that Paul loves, Jesus whispers hope and acceptance for what too often feels like a character flaw. “Lead a quiet life. Make it an ambition… Live your daily life so that…..”

Jesus whispers peace to the inner me – the little girl that just needed to hear it again, today… And maybe you need it too,

“Yes, there is a place for you. Yes, there is purpose in your quiet passion. Yes, your daily life CAN win the respect of those watching from the sidelines. Yes, in all this, the goal is always, in everything, be dependent solely on me. I am the God of all comfort. (2 Cor. 1:3-4) I will lead. I will guide. That infamous comfort zone? Just old habits. And by My hand, as you place your hand to this plow I’ve placed before you, I will replace old with new… I will replace your fears, with my love. But, be at peace, my sweet Quiet one, I have not made you to be anyone else. Find yourself in me.”

Waiting:

Jesus, I am hidden in you. And you call me by name. Help me find me, and who you see me to be. Help me be everything you want for me.

More Word to Water

DSCN2341

 

Leave a Reply

