The Night God Appeared

Watering:

That night God appeared to Solomon and said to him, “Ask for whatever you want me to give you.”

(1 Kings 3)

Watching:

Solomon had watched his dad’s faith play out. He knew of his faithfulness, saw his heart seeking after God, heard the psalmist pour out his heart in a prostrate puddle on the bedside floor. Solomon saw his father making preparations for God’s name. He heard David say it had always been his dream, but God would choose Solomon instead to fulfill it.

His father’s vision, but God’s choosing: Little Sol… “Just One of Many” Sol.

Chosen by God’s himself? How would this ever possibly be?

But God showed up, just like his father said he would. Appeared to the boy in the his father’s shadow. And to the young man without a vision of his own, God spoke, and time stopped. “Sol, it’s me, ask for whatever you want me to give you.”

Surely Solomon had thought of this very moment a million times. Surely he had hoped and waited for the day David’s God would become his own. Surely his heart gushed out his long-contemplated reply and Solomon answered,

“You have shown great kindness to your servant, my father David, because he was faithful to you and righteous and upright in heart. You have continued this great kindness to him and have given him a son to sit on his throne this very day.

“Now, Lord my God, (let your promise to my father David be confirmed ) you have made your servant king in place of my father David. But I am only a little child and do not know how to carry out my duties. Your servant is here among the people you have chosen, a great people, too numerous to count or number. So give your servant a discerning heart to govern your people and to distinguish between right and wrong. For who is able to govern this great people of yours?”

No doubt Solomon felt the weight of his new position. No doubt, he tasted the greatness of this vision: worthy of God- yes a thousand times yes – but impossible without him.

And there, in the dark, King Solomon found his voice, his purpose

-He found his need-

“Lord, you helped my father, will you now help me too?”

Wondering:

The sun seems to tarry this morning and I hear the same quiet prompting, “Ask for whatever you want me to give you.” But, flustered, I hurry quickly on to stroll instead along a dusty Israeli road and there, I see Jesus stopping at a blind man’s side. And, there, I hear the words again, “What would you have me do for you?”

I try to wiggle away, but the day edges near and the sun does his little peek-a-boo behind the clouds, and I cannot hurry away this time… His gentle probing is unmistakeable.

“What is it you want, punkin’? ”

“Oh Lord, you know.

“Yes, but you don’t ask… so I’m asking again, what is it you want, Sweetheart?”

But somehow I stop. Hesitant to continue,

You do not have because you do not ask God. When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.

Seems God is always asking. Seems I’m always hem-hawing. Seems that it is always so much easier to bring my requests for someone else… like He’ll hear for them, but not for me? Like I’ve gotta make my answer good enough somehow? Like I don’t want to waste a magic genie wish? Like my darkest fear will come true and maybe God will look and see what I see: a needy life ready to spend any and everything on my own small pleasure.

But when God looks at me, looks at you, He sees Jesus. He sees his child, His daughters, His sons. And like Solomon, He’s chosen us. Us. His Little Ones. How silly to hesitate, when it’s our Daddy, who wants to give us all good things. How silly, when always, everyday, He lavishes good things on us without us ever asking. How silly when blessings pour from His hand: the big and the grand, the little and the detailed – no strings attached.

How silly…

And as the sun’s ray reach beyond the clouds and touch with warmth on my face, I hear Him ask once again,

“What is it you want, Little One?

This time I reply.

Waiting:

“Call on me and I will answer you and show you great and unsearchable things that you know not.”

I’m calling, Lord. Hear my heart. Change what you need… but here, Today, I’m calling.

More Word to water

P1000373

Leave a Reply

