‘Cuz ya know…

holding-hands

Watering:

Psalm 28

To you, Lord, I call;
you are my Rock,
do not turn a deaf ear to me.
For if you remain silent,
I will be like those who go down to the pit.
Hear my cry for mercy
as I call to you for help,
as I lift up my hands
toward your Most Holy Place.

Do not drag me away with the wicked,
with those who do evil…

Because they have no regard for the deeds of the Lord
and what his hands have done,
he will tear them down
and never build them up again.

Praise be to the Lord,
for he has heard my cry for mercy.
The Lord is my strength and my shield;
my heart trusts in him, and he helps me.
My heart leaps for joy,
and with my song I praise him.

Watching:

Country music has nothing on David’s songs. David mourns and grieves and yearns with the best of them.

“… if you remain silent, I will be like those who go down to the pit.” Please, hear me…

David is on his way out. Desperate he calls.

“…don’t drag me away with those that don’t know you…”

And then somewhere between verse 2 and verse 6, David finds life again… How does he do that?

“You heard me! … My heart leaps for joy.”

David’s heart leaps! Shocked back from flat-lining in despair, to a heart that pulses Life again.

From Code Blue to Resuscitated Red.

Somehow David always manages to find that turning place that catapults him from zero to hero – from “down and out” to up and coming straight into the throne room of God. His “put-a-nail-in-the-casket” prayers always transport him to perspective-changing praise.

Because in the thick of things,

David always reminds himself

who loves him,

who made him,

who knows him

… and who’s got his back.

Wondering:

S0 now comes the infamous, “so what about me?” What can I learn from this Israeli country singer?

*          Don’t sugar coat the feelings.

*          Say what you mean, but say it to the One who gives a rip.

*          Wade in and maybe wallow (just a little) and lay it all out – don’t edit a thing.

*          Then start up your own tune – remembering better times, recalling all the ways He’s              brought you through before.

*           And settle into His arms, letting your heart be changed

                               … ‘cuz ya know ya can’t do the resuscitatin’ thing on yer own.                   It’s His work and His work alone.”

Waiting:

Jesus, our hearts – messy, hurt and bleeding hearts – are changed forever in your hands and the praise of our mouth. Lord, help the down-trodden today – those names you know… They need your hope, Lord.

Heck, we all just need You to tell us over and over who we are and who we can always be: loved, forgiven, made new.

Watering Psalms 28, 128; Proverbs 28; Romans 9 

DSCN0734

 

“The unfolding of your words gives light;
it gives understanding to the simple.” … like me.

 

Leave a Reply

