Spring Cleaning Mode

admin-ajax

Watering:

 “‘Do not make idols or set up an image or a sacred stone for yourselves, and do not place a carved stone in your land to bow down before it. I am the Lord your God.

 “‘Observe my Sabbaths and have reverence for my sanctuary. I am the Lord.

Watching:

God spends a lot of time warning against idols and commanding Sabbath rest. It follows, then, that these things must be important to Him… and pitfalls for us as well.

It seems like sometimes, now that Jesus has come, it’s easy to think we are impervious to the things that stumbled the children of Israel. Even the mere fact that we call them the ‘children’ of Israel hints that we ‘adults’ think we are beyond these childish acts.

Geesh.

Wondering:

So what are my idols of choice? What is it that I don’t rest from, or rather, what is it that gets in my way from turning “wrestling with God”  into resting with God?

And what is an ‘idol’… really? A projection of something I made or can control? A mind-numb-er or a replacement for Truth … so I can avoid what I don’t want confront?

An idol is anything I’ve made important enough in my Everydays, that get Him needing to remind me: “Hey. Over here. I am the Lord, your God.”

And why do I struggle to rest? … or more accurately, why no SABBATH rest? That seventh day rest is to remember that God rested. The God of the universe rested. Stopped. Enjoyed. Sabbath rest is  a time to reflect on the ways God works on my behalf.  A time just to STOP and confront all the reasons I don’t WANT to stop.

Sabbath rest is a time to be real and broken – yet aware and thankful.

Waiting:

Jesus, the winter was long and I’ve been putting off spring cleaning time. 

I need an Idol cleanser, and a Sabbath reminder. I need a disinfectant and maybe some time in a God-hugging straightjacket. Pure and simple. Harsh, but effective.

Lord, I’m looking for a Holy Spirit deep-cleaning facial peal to dissolve away all the built up crud. Then, I’m needing the reverent rest of remembering all You are, and all you do. In other words, I want a regular date night with you – your choice – to help me not lose the onmyknees magic of who you are in the busy-ness of the amazingness of Life you’ve given. How ’bout next Saturday, does that sound good?

Watering: Leviticus 26:1-2; Ps 30, 130; Proverbs 30; Romans 10-11

DSCN1170

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

