Not Looking for Rote

Watering:

Then the Pharisees went out and laid plans to trap him in his words. But Jesus, knowing their evil intent, said, “You hypocrites, why are you trying to trap me?

***

That same day the Sadducees, who say there is no resurrection, came to him with a question. Jesus replied, “You are in error because you do not know the Scriptures or the power of God.

Watching:

God, the father, needed only one word: Jesus.

Jesus – the Father’s living, breathing, walking expression of himself.

And here, these religious men were trying to trap Jesus in His words. How ironic.

Jesus was very clear: these men were hypocrites.  Not because they were trying to trap him with questions – but because they didn’t really want an answer.

They weren’t seeking.

They weren’t trying to learn.

They weren’t hope for Truth to set them free.

No, they were asking him questions they thought they already knew because they had an agenda.

Yet even despite their motivation, despite their mockery, despite it all Jesus still answers them with Truth.

“You are in error because you do not know the Scriptures or the power of God.”

Wondering:

Jesus always answered people with stories or questions of His own. I use the same technique in my 4th grade classroom: Make ’em stop. Make ’em think. Give ’em a reference point to care.

But I can also tell the kids that have memorized an answer, or copied it from a book, or have mimicked what someone else has said… Do they know the answer? Really know it? Down to their toes know it?

Nope. Not in a long shot.

So I wonder. What parable would Jesus tell me? What story would He anchor to my soul? What questions would He ask me to get me to stop, to think, to care?

Would He ever need to ask, “Jane, do you know the Scriptures? Do you know the power that comes by my living Word. Not looking for rote… do you really know it?”

Waiting:

Lord, I think I would be wise in this life to listen harder, learn deeper and lay it all down so much more completely before I give any quick answer. But even now I’m reminded of so many words, Your words, anchoring my soul… giving me hope and direction as I resolve to know nothing except You and You crucified… as I learn who I really am in you, and who you are in me.

Watering today: Matthew 22; Proverbs 5; Ps 5, 105, 65 ; Ephesians 1

P1030278

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

