Stories and Questions and Truth… oh my

Watering:

Then the Pharisees went out and laid plans to trap him in his words. But Jesus, knowing their evil intent, said, “You hypocrites, why are you trying to trap me?

***

That same day the Sadducees, who say there is no resurrection, came to him with a question. Jesus replied, “You are in error because you do not know the Scriptures or the power of God.

*** (Matthew 22:15-33)

Watching:

These “all that” religious leaders were trying to trap Jesus in His words. His words. The very Word of God himself! How ironic.

But of course Jesus knew what they were up to, because He can see hearts… and His plan? Ask them questions. Let them search through their own can of worms  words.

Yet despite their motivation – even then –  Jesus answers them with Truth:

“You are in error because you do not know the Scriptures or the power of God.”

Yes, your mind might know the Scriptures, but I see your hearts and they don’t. Nor do they know the power of God that comes by my Spirit-breathed Word… because it is not by power, not by strength, but by my spirit.. says. the. Lord.

Wondering:

These men asked Jesus questions – and he called them hypocrites. Not because they were trying to trap Him with questions (Jesus is always willing to answer truth-seeking hearts), but because He knew they weren’t looking for answers –  They were asking Him questions they thought they already knew.

They were looking for argument.

… and Jesus answered with questions.

Cut away to many other scenes, and we see the disciples asking Jesus questions that they did want answers to – important, eternal, “tell us the secret” questions.

… and Jesus answers with stories.

***

Seems Jesus was either questioning or story-telling, and so I have to wonder… In all the questions I ask Him, in all the things I want to know… what story would He tell? What question might He ask?

And might it all get back to the same tenet of life-lived faith…

“Jane, do you know the Scriptures? Are you a student of my word, studying to please my heart, and rightly handle the Word of Truth? Do you know, intimately, the power of the Living God?”

Waiting:

Jesus, you’ve known me from the start. You know my going outs and my coming ins. You know my heart and I am learning yours. I trust in your heart toward me, broken on a rugged tree, to forever set me free – from me. Yes, I know your love. But honestly, Father, I know in every part of me, that I will always need to know you more. The power of your Word. The power of your Spirit. The power of your love to me and through me for this dying world you love. Teach me.

Watering Today: Matthew 22; Prov 11; Ps 11, 111; Song of Songs 5-8;

P1030054

 

2 comments on “Stories and Questions and Truth… oh my

  1. pat whitson says:

    Jane, I so appreciate your steel against steel effect on me. And at the same time you’re a vessel of His Holy Spirit Peace. His Peace comes with His words of Truth even in the midst of His painful pruning of us. Amen?

Leave a Reply

