Mountains

DSCN1385

Watering:

 The Lord our God said to us at Horeb, “You have stayed long enough at this mountain.” (Deut. 1:6)

Watching:

Mountains.

They’ve always been important to God.

Jesus climbed a mountain nearly every day.

Elijah finally heard God’s real voice.

And God called Moses to his mountain. Made him take his shoes off. Gave him his words and vision and a purpose to walk into. Let him see the promised land.

Come to the mountain of God. Get a vantage point. See all that God has promised for you. Okay, now go. You have stayed long enough. It’s time for dreams to be walked out. Time for mountains to be laid low. time for obstacles obliterated. Time to not let the mountains get in the way. Indeed, if you have faith small as a mustard seed you could say to this mountain move… and it would.

Wondering:

I don’t know why this Scripture stopped me today. It seems like the very word mountain represents very opposing ideas, that of giants in life or that of a place to find God.

I suppose they are both.

My greatest victories lead me to mountains to hear his small still voice.

My mountainous giants, lead me to face them down armed with whom I’ve come to know and my little slingshot of faith.

What’s your giant now, Jane? What mountain needs some leveling – a smooth stone reminder of who’s really in control. What mountain of God will give you the vantage point you need – to see his promises spread out before you – with the whisiper of his small still voice in the wind.

So, yep, not sure why this Scripture stopped me today.

I guess sometimes it’s just good to stop. Look around. Reassess. Come to the mountain of God. Or cast the mountain to the sea.

Waiting:

Jesus. Sometimes – most times – I just need to listen to the wind. Give me ears to hear.

Watering this Word today: Prov 18, Ps 18, 118; Deut. 1; Colossians 1-4

DSCN1385

2 comments on “Mountains

  1. pat whitson says:

    Inspiring… Published in “Word Press” now? What does that mean, sis?

Leave a Reply

