I Dub thee…

Watering:

In the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who will judge the living and the dead, and in view of his appearing and his kingdom, I give you this charge:

Preach the word; be prepared in season and out of season; correct, rebuke and encourage—with great patience and careful instruction.

Watching:

Paul is about to die. He knows it. Timothy knows it… and so Paul cuts to the chase. (After all, it’s the biggies that matter now.)

… In essence, Timothy is being vested into spirit-led knighthood.

So with weighted words and all the pomp and circumstance he can muster, Paul passes to his spiritual son “the charge” of his legacy: five ‘simple’ edicts from the Most High God.

Preach the Word.

Be prepared always.

Correct, rebuke, encourage

(And make sure you do these all with great patience and careful instruction.)

All the day to day details of walking this out will come later, Timothy, when they’re needed. But right here, right now, remember these things.

Wondering:

I think of Timothy receiving this letter. I see him tearing into it to hear any bit of hope there may be-  the mix of joy that Paul is still alive and the devastation that the end is drawing near. I am certain Timothy is keenly aware: “…This isn’t just any letter, this is his heart poured out to me. This is death and life written for my hands.”

I imagine him feeling gratefulness and sadness and holy reverence wrapped into one ball of grief. I imagine him beginning to feel the weight of Paul’s legacy being placed squarely on his shoulders now…He’s probably wondering, “How can I do this alone, Lord? How can I possibly fill these shoes?”

And what I love is that God keeps it simple. Simple, yet powerful. Designated purpose – laid out plain and simple – infused with tangible hope.

I tend to make things complicated. Maybe that’s the woman in me. Maybe that’s the indecisive girl whose afraid of making the tiniest of mistakes. Maybe that’s the enemy using words I let loose too quickly (he can’t hear my thoughts) as a starting place for his smoke and mirror antics.

So what I love are the clear directions given in time spent with Him – irrefutable memories spoken into being by the King Himself. And all the day to day details, for all us OCD detailers, they’re there too – a whole book of them! written clear and strong and true (makes me a little dancing-in-the-rain giddy). But what I love most is God’s heart saying gently – calmly –

“Keep it simple, Sweetheart… ”

He has shown you, O mortal, what is good.
    And what does the Lord require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy
    and to walk humbly with your God. (Micah 6:8)

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. (1 Thes 5:12-23)

(And just because he KNOWS I need me some details 🙂 ) …

Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you. (Philippians 4:4-9)

Waiting:

Lord,  forget the “Daily Double” I want your daily dubbing – feeling the Sword of Your spirit gracing my shoulders as I wait on bended knee.

Watering Today:  Ps 30, 130, 60, Prov 30; Amos 1-3; Psalms 80; 2 Timothy 4

DSCN1163

 

Leave a Reply

