There, but for the grace…

Watering:

At one time we too were foolish, disobedient, deceived and enslaved by all kinds of passions and pleasures. We lived in malice and envy, being hated and hating one another. But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy.

Watching:

At one time…

Wondering:

I have a friend (Heather Kopp: author of Sober Mercy) who is a recovering Christian alcoholic. She writes about her years of spiraling into a black hole of shame and deceit and addiction:

You might think it strange that years later I still do this—reminisce about the terrible times that are no longer happening—but I can’t help it. The contrast is still too great, the miracle still too near, and my only fear now is that I might forget.

In all this good living and bursting with happiness, I might think I’ve changed enough to go back and sip where terror waits, begging me to come. (Soberboots.com)

I can’t let myself forget of who I was without Jesus because “the contrast is still too great, the miracle still too near and my only fear now is that I might forget.”

I can’t let myself be tricked that I’ve changed enough… because I’m not the one who’s done a thing – it. is. His. mercy. every. single. day.

Because…

I also have a friend who was a pastor’s wife. A middle-aged woman with all the sweetness of Aunt Bee and the countenance of June Cleaver. No way, in a million years, would you have ever convinced me that she would let herself get caught into an adulterous relationship and leave her husband. Never… And I am not assuming I know the whole story, but I do know tragedy struck: their 16 year old daughter died, their marriage became a boat set adrift in a storm… and in finding solace in another more death followed.

We are all sinners saved by His grace…We are not immune to wrong choices just because the Lord calls us His own. He will always love us. He will never forsake us… but as surely as I will forget what is past so that it does not anchor me to it, I will also remember the past

so that I remain mindful of his great mercy

… so I will strive for the surpassing worth of knowing Him

… so that I walk kindly in a lost world looking for His love.

And, in that knowledge, I will heed Paul’s words:

… be ready to do whatever is good, to slander no one, to be peaceable and considerate, and always to be gentle toward everyone.

At one time we too were foolish, disobedient, deceived and enslaved by all kinds of passions and pleasures. We lived in malice and envy, being hated and hating one another. But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy.

He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, whom he poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior, so that, having been justified by his grace, we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life. This is a trustworthy saying. And I want you to stress these things, so that those who have trusted in God may be careful to devote themselves to doing what is good. (Titus 3:1-8)

Waiting:

Yes, Lord. Yes.

Watering Today: Ps 1, 101, 71; prov 1; Isaiah 1-3; Titus 3

DSCN2222

 

Leave a Reply

