God’s idea of strength

Watering:

Through the praise of children and infants
    you have established a stronghold against your enemies,
    to silence the foe and the avenger. (Psalm 8: 2)

Watching:

That which is simple.

That which is sweet and innocent.

That which bubbles up in pure, excited response.

All that is wrapped in the joy-filled praise from a child’s heart is God’s idea of a strength against the enemy.

All that dimpled, spontaneous praise…

silences the darkest foe, the most fierce avenger.

Wondering:

Sometimes I get WAY too grown up for my own britches.

Sometimes I forget the simple joy of my salvation – how creation lit up from inside all around me, like someone turned the light on to make it glow. Like how the stars shone differently – winking at me like I was now ‘in’ on the secret, like I was now one of them. Like how every war torn, scarred and sad part of me was a child again – brand new – leaping, twirling, doing cartwheels and somersaults and all the while exclaiming, “Daddy, look at me! Daddy, watch this! You’re the best Daddy in the whole wide world!”

Sometimes I let myself grow up and I forget. I let myself get pushed and shoved into fear and the old, worn out demons of my past…

I would be wise to remember that my biggest weapon against all the Dark and Scaries is:

trusting and praising my big, big Daddy.

Waiting:

Daddy, I will remember… from the inside child, out to the woman you’ve made me, I will praise you.

Watering Today: Prov 9; Ps 8; Micah 1-4; Hebrews 1- 6

DSCN2665

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

