I will

Watering:

I will sacrifice a thank offering to you
    and call on the name of the Lord. (Ps 116:17)

Watching:

Sacrifice:

the act or action of surrendering a possession as an offering to God

an act or action of giving up something valued for the sake of something else regarded as more important or worthy:

Wondering:

What do I give up when I thank the Lord? What do I surrender? What possession or valued ‘something’ would vie for my tight-fisted grasp?

When things are great, it seems that thankfulness bubbles out, not a sacrifice at all… but is that really true? Do I hang on to any bit of an idea that I deserved – I earned – whatever blessing it was? Do I fall into the glazed over, “oh hum, another blessing” -saturated mode? Every day I am lavished with gifts: the sun rising, my brain working, my big toe moving. Everyday I face the choice to wait for him, to watch for him, to “forget not all His benefits.”  ALL His benefits.

Maybe the sacrifice comes in the discipline of “forgetting NOT” … the daily exercise of giving up time to remember. If I only receive – if I let myself become numb to all His benefits – then I take on the stench of entitlement.

When things are great, shouldn’t my thank offering be giving it all away?

And when things are not so rosy and full, what do I surrender then? What valued something do I cling to… that I should give to Him? My desire to be in control? My fierce pride? The part of me that says, “This isn’t fair. You can’t possibly be in control, God, if this is happening;  If I were in control, I’d do it this better way; How can I possibly believe you are a God of love when…”

Yes…My control. My misguided pride. The sense that I should know anything other than Christ and Him crucified. I lay it all down on the altar and offer “thanks in all circumstances: for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

… and then I fall on my knees “and call on the name of the Lord.”

Because this whole sacrificing-my-thank-offering thing? This Everything Life thing? This whole Everyday walking it out thing? It. is. simply. impossible. without. Him.

Waiting:

So yes, Lord, I say yes. I will sacrifice AND I will call. I can’t do one without the other. I can’t work up any ability in myself to do or be what you’ve called me to do or be… but You can. You have clothed me with Your righteousness. You’ve covered me, called me your own, made me an overcomer. You’ve written your word on my heart, chosen, anointed, lifted my face and called me by name. And today, this day, I will sacrifice a thank offering to you and I will call on your name Jesus.

Watering Today: Prov. 16; Ps 16, 116; Isaiah 25-28; Hebrews 13

K7A1434F70FC78_1001466

Leave a Reply

