A Hidden Treasure

Watering:

If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.  But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord. (James 1:5-7)

Watching:

If any of you lacks the next step, the next thought, the next dream, the next word…. ask.

Ask for wisdom – not things

Wisdom to hear His voice

Wisdom to walk in His ways

Wisdom to silence the voice of the Destroyer

Ask for wisdom and believe

Believe in a God who loves you

Believe in a Father who will not forsake you

Believe in a Creator who wants to give good things to the children He loves

Ask for wisdom and don’t doubt

Don’t doubt that God who sent the heart of His heart to die for you wants anything less than the best for you.

          Don’t doubt that in him there is no shadow of turning. He is the same yesterday, today and forever.

Don’t doubt He is who He said He is, and does what He says He’ll do

…and He will give wisdom generously to all without finding fault.

 

Wondering:

Wisdom does not always find its way onto my top 10 things to pray for. Honestly. Prayers for faith and love and hope. Prayers for boldness and strength and patience… Prayers for mercy, grace and deliverance. Somehow these prayers push their way to the frontline….but wisdom?

… I pray for it when I think I need it.

How often do I live my life like one who says, “Thanks, God… but I got this one.”

And then I read this:

My son, if you accept my words
    and store up my commands within you,
turning your ear to wisdom
    and applying your heart to understanding—
  indeed, if you call out for insight
    and cry aloud for understanding,
and if you look for it as for silver
    and search for it as for hidden treasure,
then you will understand the fear of the Lord
    and find the knowledge of God.
For the Lord gives wisdom;
    from his mouth come knowledge and understanding.
He holds success in store for the upright,
    he is a shield to those whose walk is blameless,
for he guards the course of the just
    and protects the way of his faithful ones.

Then you will understand what is right and just
    and fair—every good path.
For wisdom will enter your heart,
    and knowledge will be pleasant to your soul.
Discretion will protect you,
    and understanding will guard you. (Proverbs 2)

It would appear that praying for wisdom should not be a desperate or even a thrown-in-for-good-measure afterthought. Praying for wisdom should make it to the top billing. Obviously my Heavenly Dad, who gives graciously without finding fault,  knows I need every day, every moment, every step, every silly choice to:

– turn my ear

– apply my heart

– call out

– cry out

seek wisdom like a precious hidden treasure… a treasure for today

… that will lead me straight to the arms of God.

Waiting:

Today Lord, every moment, every step, every choice… help me be desperate for the treasure of your voice leading me, loving me, teaching me all along the way.

Watering Today: Prov 2, 22; Ps 22, 122; Isaiah 36-37; James 1

P1030054

 

Leave a Reply

