Who Are You?

Watering:

Finally they said, “Who are you? Give us an answer to take back to those who sent us. What do you say about yourself?” (John 1:22)

Watching:

John came from a rich heritage. He grew up at his parents knees with the family stories of deep longing for a child in old age met by a God who hears our cry. He came from the story of leaping by God’s spirit,n his mom’s womb at Mary’s voice, and his father’s story of being struck mute at the doubting of God word. He came from the stories of redemption culmunating when his God’s given name was in put into question – and his dad declared in writing to all who doubted who he was:

“His name is John.”

And in this, Zechariah’s answer that had formed in months of silence, his tongue was set free, and John’s identity was planted firm:

And you, my child, will be called a prophet of the Most High;
    for you will go on before the Lord to prepare the way for him,
77 to give his people the knowledge of salvation
    through the forgiveness of their sins,
78 because of the tender mercy of our God,
    by which the rising sun will come to us from heaven
79 to shine on those living in darkness
    and in the shadow of death,
to guide our feet into the path of peace.”

John was taught at an early age who is was.

Little Johnny was taught to listen to God. To see the hand of God move in mysterious ways. To trust that the God of Abraham, Issacc and Joseph was alive and well in the Now of His people.

John was trained up in the way he should go. He was ready for questions. He had been readied his whole life.

“Finally they said, “Who are you? Give us an answer to take back to those who sent us. What do you say about yourself?”

Wondering:

I have struggled with identity my whole life. You would think after 55 years of life, I would know by now.

Who am I? Why am I here?

Thirty-two years ago my “Who Am I?” dropped me to my knees and lead me straight to the arms of Jesus. And all of heaven opened its arms and I knew immediately I knew my first “i am’s”…. I am loved and I am saved. Saved from me, saved from hopelessness, saved from a lonely, purposeless life.

But honestly, life’s days keep on in their relentless march and still, in so many ways, I struggle with the question, “Who am I?” Yet everyday I realize that I am still being readied to answer the questions, to declare without shadow of turning, to proclaim in Spirit and down-deep-in-my-gut Truth:

Who am I?

I am a daughter of the Most High God

I am chosen, a precious vessel, His princess

I am His bride

I am forgiven, anointed, set free

I am a conqueror
I am a new creature
I am a child of God, called by God, set apart to be His friend

I am an heir with Jesus
I am God’s gracious gift
I am known

Who am I?

I am created in Him for good works that He has made for me to walk in,

I am His billboard, a sign, His letter,
His gracious gift
commissioned under the authority of His name to:

to love the unlovely, to find the Lost
to bring reconciliation to those far off
to bind up the wounded, and heal the sick
… to comfort those that mourn

I am here to say with every bold, confident, assured cell within me:

“THIS day is the day
of rescue. This is the day to come back home.”

Who am I?

I am a thinker
I am a harmonizer specializing in dissonant chords
I am called to honor the small things
and tend to the details that bring Life and Hope

I am born to worship
Born for relationship with my creator
Born as His pleasure – a star whose name He knows

I am created, therefore, I am born to create
I am loved, therefore I am born to love
I am forgiven, therefore I must forgive

I am pretty, in a plain, smiley kind of way

I am beloved by God

 

And so I would ask… who are you?

 

Waiting:

Lord, I am in hidden in you… and only nestled in your arms will I know who I am.

Watering Today: Prov 30; ps 30, 130: Isaiah 60-62; John 1

DSCN2351

 

Leave a Reply

