The Guardian

Watering:

Blessed are those whose strength is in you,
    whose hearts are set on pilgrimage…

They go from strength to strength,
    till each appears before God in Zion. (Ps. 84:5-7)

Watching:

Set. Determined. Resolved.

Purposed in heart to the journey.

Committed in spirit to the trek.

Resolved in mind that standing before the King, the Maker, the One who set the earth in motion and calls each star by name is worth each step, each stumble, each moment of perseverance

– because He gives strength to the weary

– because He is faithful who has called and will keep safe what we have committed to Him

– because where my treasure is, there will be my heart.

Wondering:

I’ve crossed a lot of rivers in my life. And though most I motor by on bridges without even a thought to the spanning construction that pioneers would have given their eyeteeth for … when I’m hiking, I look for rocks.

Fallen trees are okay, but most are too skinny or too slippery or too high.

… My first choice is always a path of leap-worthy rocks that will guide me across quick and dry, with nerves intact.

Leap to leap.

From faith jump to ever-building faith jump.

 

I cannot expect paved paths in this life. I have an enemy who likes to stall and delay, distract and detour.

But if Jesus is my path, the Way — the Rock on which I stand. If He is the Rock on which I leap, from one leap to the next … If I jump from Jesus to Jesus to Jesus, then He jumps with me.

And He will lead me along right paths for His name’s sake.

From strength to strength, the Rock Jumper – the Guardian- will lead me home.

Waiting:

Jesus, I have set my heart on You. You are the way of my pilgrimage… and I will be satisfied when I awake and see you face to face.

Watering Today: prov 4; ps 4, 104, 84; 2 Kings 22; 2 Chronicles 34; John 3-6

DSCN2107
 

Leave a comment