Under Construction

Watering:

“In the wilderness prepare
    the way for the Lord;
make straight in the desert
  a highway for our God.

Watching:

A couple of weeks ago, this same Scripture stopped me as I wrestled with trying to see spiritual wilderness through the same eyes as my love for the Earth’s wilderness… There truly is beauty in each.

But Today this same Scripture stopped me and whispered a new way:

Prepare the way. Make a straight highway.

Ummm, okay… but how?

And then came along this little jewel:

Love and faithfulness meet together;
    righteousness and peace kiss each other.
Faithfulness springs forth from the earth,
    and righteousness looks down from heaven.
The Lord will indeed give what is good,
    and our land will yield its harvest.
Righteousness goes before him
and prepares the way for his steps.
(Ps. 85:10-13)

Righteousness goes before Him.

Righteousness excavates the stumps and the stones. It bulldozes the rubble and the roots. It smooths the way for gold.

Righteousness is ours – a gift from God, wrapped in the royalty of a blood stained tree. (Rom. 3:22, 2 Cor. 5:21)

 

Wondering:

In this world I am forever under construction, yet…

Yet, it is God who gives me His right-with-God-ness.

Yet, it is God who takes my filthy rags in exchange for the robe of His righteousness.

Yet, it is God who will guide my steps and help me prepare the way for His.

And all of this simply (and oh so not simply) because He loves me

… And all of this simply (and oh so not simply) because His heart is still reaching for the lost and the weary.

Waiting:

Lord, from my depths you know my heart. You know – and you love me anyway.  Yes, I’m under construction, but you are a master builder, Jesus. Teach me how to love you more. Teach me how to love others more.

Watering Today: prov 5; ps 5, 105, 85; 2 Kings 23; 2 Chronicles 35; John 7

DSCN2458

 

Leave a Reply

