Still Fishing with Dad

Watering:

Pilate then went back inside the palace, summoned Jesus and asked him, “Are you the king of the Jews?”

“Is that your own idea,” Jesus asked, “or did others talk to you about me?”

“Am I a Jew?” Pilate replied. “Your own people and chief priests handed you over to me. What is it you have done?”

Jesus said, “My kingdom is not of this world. If it were, my servants would fight to prevent my arrest by the Jewish leaders. But now my kingdom is from another place.”

You are a king, then!” said Pilate.

Jesus answered, “You say that I am a king. In fact, the reason I was born and came into the world is to testify to the truth. Everyone on the side of truth listens to me.”

“What is truth?” retorted Pilate. With this he went out again to the Jews gathered there and said, “I find no basis for a charge against him. (John 18:33-38)

Watching:

Jesus knows what’s up. He knows what these night’s events are leading to … He knows his time on earth is coming to a screeching end and yet here He is with Pilate He’s doing that “people thing” that He does so well:

He’s listening

He’s answering

He’s probing,

He’s revealing Truth

Jesus is using every. last. minute. he’s. been. given.

… He’s still fishing for men.

Wondering:

So here’s what I love about this: Jesus is at peace. He’s not praying and travailing and crying out to His Father anymore. (Oh I know I would be.) No, He did that already and sweat blood in the process. He already calmed and quieted his heart. He already took the time He needed…

and Jesus. didn’t. leave. the. Garden.

until He and His Dad were good… and His gaze was settled on the joy set before him.

In the garden, His identity, his purpose and the knowing of His father’s love are securely anchored in the Now.

In the garden, my identity, my purpose, and my knowing of the Father’s love must be settled before I can ever expect to walk in the peace of Now.

Jesus leaves the garden at peace in his own stormy sea – I can too

ready to keep fishing with our Dad.

Waiting:

Jesus, you never stop being a teacher, a leader, a trailblazer. Always showing the way. My anchor to all that is True and Real. Thank you.

Watering Today: prov 16, 116; 86; 2 Kings 24; Jeremiah 22; John 18

K7A1434F70FC78_1001117

 

 

Leave a Reply

