A Snow-Cooled Drink

Watering:

Like a snow-cooled drink at harvest time
    is a trustworthy messenger to the one who sends him;
    he refreshes the spirit of his master.
 Like clouds and wind without rain
    is one who boasts of gifts never given.

Prov. 25: 13-14

Watching:

God gives us a message and sends us off with directions

And a recipient or two

And when we complete our mission, God’s heart is refreshed.

 

On the flip side, though, without action it doesn’t matter what kind of gift you’ve been endowed, or message you’ve been entrusted

… and if you don’t give it away, you are just a cloudy, windy, collection bag of hot air.

 

Wondering:

Everything I have, everything I am, everything I am meant to be… is a gift from God – a message sent to a hurting world.

And this gift of me

Is meant to be given away

Is meant to refresh like a gentle spring rain,

…. like a snow-cooled drink

The One who sends me, intends me to be substance and Life to a hot and thirsty world

— not a huffing, puffing, sun-blocking fluff.

 

Waiting:

Jesus, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise… Lord, the “whatever” in me, is you. And I would really like to be the ice cold lemonade that refreshes your spirit. Teach me more and, help me always,  to give myself away.

Watering Today: Prov. 25; ps 25, 125, 85; Jeremiah 31-32; 1 John 4

http://youtu.be/c9taG2SSp8k

P1000566

 

Leave a Reply

