A New Song

 

DSCN3045

Watering:

Sing to the Lord a new song,
    for he has done marvelous things; (Ps 98)

Watching:

David was a song writing fool.

He had sung songs to the Lord his whole life… songs to fill the long sheep watching nights, songs to calm a tormented ruler, songs to feel a dark cave with hope.

So many songs.

And yet he still continues to remind himself over and over: “Sing to the Lord a new song..”

New requires new.

New thanks.

New hope.

New commitment.

New Life…

A New day needs a New song.

 

Wondering:

I often wake up, just wishing for a brand new start of heart.

But, seeing with a child’s eye,

starting fresh,

sensing Beginning in the midst of so much Worn Out

… it takes grit.

Even the idea of starting brand-spanking-new can grow stale minutes after dreams have faded into the morning light.

… Because the truth is:  I am helpless to ‘work up’ anything fresh on my own.

… Because the truth is: The sun rises like it has every day after day after day. And Yesterday’s “to do’s” push themselves into today’s headline news. And the same aches, and worries, and crowd of thoughts explode the silence like the ticking of Grandpa’s old, dependable clock – and often disguise themselves as old familiar friends.

… Because the plain simple truth is I’m getting old, and it’s hard to see the “inner self being renewed each day”

But this I know:

Only God can re-new me, re-work me, re-fresh me.

So, it is on Him that I will desperately wait.

 And this day, this moment, I will make up my mind

to sing a new song to the One I love.

 

2 Corinthians 5:17

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.

Ezekiel 36:26

And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.

Isaiah 43:19

Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.

Isaiah 40:31

but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.

2 Corinthians 4:16

So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day.

Psalm 40:3

He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God. Many will see and fear, and put their trust in the Lord.

Waiting:

Jesus, I will wait on you,

 I wait for the Lord,

my whole being waits,
    and in his word I put my hope.
I wait for the Lord
    more than watchmen wait for the morning,
    more than watchmen wait for the morning.

 

until you fill my heart with a new song… and today, Lord, I will sing it. For you. And for you alone.

Watering Today: Prov. 25; Ps 98; Jeremiah 31-32; 1 John 4

DSCN3045

5 comments on “A New Song

  1. Re new Re work Re fresh & RESTORES! Enjoyed your post!

Leave a Reply

