We’re Not in Kansas Anymore, Toto

Watering:

The Lord will extend your mighty scepter from Zion, saying,
    “Rule in the midst of your enemies!” (Psalm 110:2)

Watching:

The Lord is looking for leaders. Leaders that understand they are extensions of God’s hands – His scepters of authority.

God is not taking us out of Kansas and dropping us into Oz. Nor is he wanting us to close ourselves off behind a fancy curtain to play with lights and sound effects projecting a form of godliness but denying the power within… pretending we have power when really we are just a clanging cymbal – a fake wizard whose just as lost as any other traveler.

It is our Maker that extends his leadership in us. It is He that says,

“Stay right where you are and rule. Not by power. Not by might. .. but by my spirit born in love.

Rule in the midst of all those things that clamber around you causing you to stumble, or sleep, or lose hope. 

Rule over Fear that tries to bring you down any way it can.

Rule whether you ‘feel’ like a ruler or not… because it is not you at work, but me at work within you.

Wondering:

Seems like I’ve been a bit whiny lately. Whiny like my students, oh great and mighty leader that I am. Sigh.

But in reality I’ve been whiny at God, a chalkboard screech of obnoxiousness: “Get me outta here, Lord. I don’t want to be here. It’s so much better somewhere else. I want color to fill my senses… Oh, wait. That’s not what I meant. I mean I want a greener pasture, a bluer sky, an Oz without the monkeys or the witch that I’ve become. Oh wait, that’s not it either. Get me outta this Ozland, I want back home to my corn fields…”

And all the while God is saying, “Stop your wiggling, Jane. Be still. Rule in the midst of your enemies.” All the time His small still voice confirms in my soul, “Do not listen to the Hater of your soul. He whispers lies, but I tell you the truth: You. Are. Not. The. Enemy. You are mine. And it is by my hand that you rule. It is MY hand that protects what he cannot destroy… It is my hand that lifts you up, holds you, comforts you. Strengthens you. Now, rule, Little One. Right where you are. My grace is sufficient for you. Even in the midst of wicked witches, flying monkeys and colorless fields of time.”

Waiting:

Lord,  You are with me. You teach me. You guide me. You are enough… whether in Kansas or Oz and everywhere in between… you are enough.

Watering Today: Prov. 10; ps 10, 110; Nehemiah 1 -4; Luke 23

P1010453


Leave a Reply

