Just Plain Stupid

DSCN2320

Watering:

Whoever loves discipline loves knowledge,
but whoever hates correction is stupid. (Proverbs 12:1)

Watching:

No mincing words here.

Knowledge is not cheap. It requires disciplined dedication… and if you don’t like correction along the way then you’re just plain stupid.

Wondering:

I’m a teacher, so I see a lot of the parenting trends. (Sadly, discipline is not one of them.) … But funny enough, the not-so-new trend over the last several years is the staunch adherence that “Stupid” is a swear word. (And, Mrs. Williams, hate is a strong word and you’re not supposed to hate anything… remember?)

The good intention, I know, is to teach children not to call any person Stupid (and hate IS a strong word.) But as a teacher, if I utter that anything is ‘stupid’ a hush falls over the class and I realize I have some quick backtrack explaining to do: “Yes, class, computers can be stupid! Shoes, phones, choices, actions… they CAN be stupid. And, yes, I can hate things that are stupid!”

… which is why I find this Scripture so refreshing in its non-politically correct way: “If you are looking for the knowledge of God, and you hate the correction that comes with discipline, you’re stupid.”

Uh oh… I mean, I’m not much on discipline and I hate correction.

Discipline means sacrifice and grueling schedules and commitments I’d rather let slide. And correction means I’m wrong. Not that I think I’m always right, but I don’t like it being pointed out that I’m wrong… I’d rather find out, in quiet, on my own, thank you very much.

Apparently what I need is a new mindset. The kind of mindset that concentrates on discipline from God’s perspective:

“whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

The kind of mindset that is melded into the understanding that our coach equips us: “His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.”

The kind of mindset that follows the plan, and uses good ol’ math… that sometimes needs correcting:

For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, mutual affection; and to mutual affection, love. For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But whoever does not have them is nearsighted and blind, forgetting that they have been cleansed from their past sins.

Therefore, my brothers and sisters,make every effort to confirm your calling and election. For if you do these things, you will never stumble, and you will receive a rich welcome into the eternal kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. (2Peter 1: 3-11)

Bottom line:

Discipline is the evidence that I am a disciple of Jesus.

It is the knowledge of His love and goodness which keeps me going.

Correction along the way is the Good Teacher doing his job…

Stupidity is simply forgetting who loves you.

Don’t be stupid, Jane.

Waiting:

Lord, I know I’m a bit flabby. Looking for new perspective and ready for some personal training, Coach. Wake within me new passion for you. Not even going to ask you to go easy on me… Okay, maybe a little. Love you Jesus. Thaks for putting up with me.

Watering Today: Prov 12; Ps 12, 112; Nehemiah 7-8; Acts 1

DSCN2320

Leave a Reply

