Surprise me

DSCN3261

Rewatering this seed today…

Watering:

In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice;
    in the morning I lay my requests before you
    and wait expectantly. (Psalm 5:3)

Watching:

Wait with hope.

Wait with held breath.

Wait with the knowledge that YOU. Hear. My. Voice.

The God of the Universe, maker of heaven and Earth, the One who puts the stars in place and knows them each by name, the Great I am, Father, Savior, the Alpha and the Omega… THIS God, hears me.

Wondering:

I’ve often thought if I saw Jesus right in front of me, and heard him ask me loud and true, “What would you have me do for you, Jane? What is it you want? Lay your requests before me.”

Oh my gosh… what would I say?

What dreams would I ask for, what hopes would scramble to the top?

Yet, here’s the deal: I can’t even make up my mind at a restaurant! How could I possibly know what to ask of the God of All?

And here’s the bigger deal: God knows me. He knows me inside and out. He knows what my heart desires, what it needs WAY more than I. And better yet, He knows I love surprises – heartfelt, detailed-searched, time-invested gifts that speak to the hidden girl hoping someone will notice.

So honestly, what would I say to this God who hears me?

“Lord, you know. You know me better than I could ever know myself… Surprise me.”

Waiting:

Lord, have your way. In me. This day. Better yet… help me surprise you.

Watering Today: Prov 23; ps  5, 23, 123; Acts 17-18

DSCN3258

6 comments on “Surprise me

  1. ilahmarie says:

    love this! the picture of the sunrise says it all!

  2. pat whitson says:

    He surprises me every day I’m my counseling room w how personally He loves my clients.. Each healing word that bubbles up from ‘nowhere’ that I risk saying aloud is straight from His healing Physician bag!

  3. Sunny Beamish says:

    Just what I needed this morning..my sister 😘

Leave a Reply

