A New Day Needs a New Song

DSCN3045

Watering:

Sing to the Lord a new song,
    for he has done marvelous things; (Ps 98)

Watching:

David was a song writing fool.

He had sung songs to the Lord his whole life… songs to fill the long sheep-watching nights, songs to calm a tormented ruler, songs to give breath to the spirit within.

So many songs.

“Sing to the Lord a new song..” he reminds us and himself over and over again…

New.

New requires new.

New thanks. New words. New hope. New commitment. New Life…

A New day needs a New song.

Wondering:

New is not easy.

Seeing new. Starting new. Living new… It all takes grit.

It seems that Fresh life can grow old and stale so quickly,

And sometimes even the enthusiasm of “new” can feel so “yesterday.”

 

Sigh.

 

The honest, plain truth is this:

I am on-my-face helpless to “work up” anything fresh on my own.

It is Jesus that re-news me

re-works

… re-freshes me.

And though I will remind my soul and noodle whip my will into submission as best I can… it is on His faithfulness alone that I will wait.

And in the midst of everything worn out and tired

– in the midst of everything old and used up –

I will choose this day, this moment to sing a new song to the One I love.

2 Corinthians 5:17

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.

Ezekiel 36:26

And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.

Isaiah 43:19

Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.

Isaiah 40:31

but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.

2 Corinthians 4:16

So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day.

Psalm 40:3

He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God. Many will see and fear, and put their trust in the Lord.

Waiting:

Jesus, the irony that I’m reposting this post about NEW, is not lost on me. But maybe – even in that – you show me you can make all things new (even old posts). So Lord, I declare again: I will wait on you until you fill my heart, this day, with a new song… Lord let me sing it for you today.

Watering Today: Prov. 25; Ps 98; Jeremiah 31-32; 1 John 4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yb1h4nxyVtUDSCN2877

Leave a Reply

