The Wonder of it All

 

Watering:

Praise be to the Lord,
for he showed me the wonders of his love
when I was in a city under siege. (Psalm 31:21)

Watching:

In the middle of all things under siege,

hopes crumbling

families imploding

health deteriorating

God shows up and showcases the wonders of his love…

 

The grandest opening ceremonies cannot rival

the glimpses of Eternity He sends

a squeezed hand,

a shared tear

a listening ear

 Unparalleled beauty twinkling in the darkest of nights

The calvary of His Love charging in

to a city under siege.

 

Wondering:

God shows up with Love.

He doesn’t have to show up with guns blazing, or angels cheering, or any other “prove it” demands I’ve hidden in my doubt.

Instead, He simply waits for me

… and listens.

Listens for me to answer His call,

Listens for me to accept His invitation:

‘Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.’

‘Come to me, all you who are weary and I will give you rest.’

 

In the timelessness of His love, Jesus waits for me.

He waits for the turn of my step, the change in my heart, the end of my self.

He waits to hear me ask for Eternity’s eyes

to see Beauty – beyond the circumstance

Hope – beyond the struggle

Truth – beyond my sparrow-sized understanding.

Because, when all is said and done:

God does not have to change a thing about my circumstance

to answer the deepest cry of my heart

The Truth is …

His love is the sunrise framed by the blackest of silhouettes

and it is most brilliant when I dare to look beyond the scary dark shadows

and fix my eyes on Him.

Waiting:

Jesus, help me always to look beyond. As you call me on, help me to follow heart-first in love with you. 

Praise be to the Lord,
for he showed me the wonders of his love
when I was in a city under siege.

Watering Today: Prov. 24; ps 31, 131; 1 John 4

DSCN3261
 

One comment on “The Wonder of it All

  1. ilahmarie says:

    thank you! love this.

Leave a Reply

