A voice cries out…

532528_3610932064196_393186069_n

Watering:

A voice cries out:
“In the wilderness prepare
    the way for the Lord;
make straight in the desert
    a highway for our God.
(Isaiah 40:3)

Watching:

 

“The voice cries out: … In the wilderness, make a way. In the desert, make a straight road.”

Wherever you find yourself…

find The Way home.

***

and Wondering:

My family, my mom, dad, brother, sisters, nephews, nieces, husband, sons – all of us – love the wilderness.

The untouched beauty,

The quiet grandeur.

The expansiveness of artistry so incredible, it boggles the mind and rocks the soul.

The wilderness is a place we respect with a healthy fear – a place we know demands to be embraced on its own terms – not ours.

The wilderness is a sacred place where God reaches into our souls and says, “Here I am. Listen to me.”

But Spiritual wilderness is a different beast altogether. Like looking into the entrance to a foreboding cave, it can scream of a scary, lost place without compass or GPS or Google Search.

Spiritual wilderness can hold in its grasp the vast expanse of loneliness and forlorn wandering.

Spiritual wilderness can feel like a barren hot desert – without oasis- able to scorch Hope to its root.

But here I sit in Tahoe, a place I love, looking out at the beauty of the wilderness that surrounds me and I wonder:

Can I look at spiritual wilderness the way I do nature’s beauty? Can spiritual wilderness hold the same beauty?… And, are they really so different after all?

Untouched beauty awaits in each:

Physical wilderness: the beauty of God’s creation

Spiritual: the beauty of who He sees me to be: His masterpiece – created in His image.

Quiet grandeur resounds in each:

Earth’s wilderness: the exploding silence of majesty too great to contain in words

Heaven sent: the depths of my soul, hidden deep in Him … where unfathomable peace is found in His quiet whispers

The expanse of creation stretches into each:

The Wild of this world holds the spider’s lacy design, cradles the mountain peak’s towering strength, reaches beyond to the twinkles of nuclear explosions that fill the darkness

The Wild of my soul embraces the depths of life where He created my inmost being; where He knit me together in my mother’s womb, designing each day for me, writing my story before even one of them came to be.

From this deeper place I can see the beauty

and I can hear His voice cries out to me:

When you are in the wilderness, Sweetie, any wilderness:

Make. it. the. Place. You. Love.

Prepare a way for me.

Waiting:

Lord, thank you for new perspective.

And Lord, in the wilderness and in the desert – on your terms and in your love – in your untouched and incomparable beauty, in the stillness and quiet grandeur of your voice, in the unfathomable expanse of who you are … I will make a place for you.

because

Where can I go from your Spirit?
    Where can I flee from your presence?

(What wilderness is strong enough to keep me from your love?)

If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
    if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
    if I settle on the far side of the sea,
even there your hand will guide me,
    your right hand will hold me fast.
If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
    and the light become night around me,”
even the darkness will not be dark to you;
    the night will shine like the day,
    for darkness is as light to you.

How precious to me are your thoughts,God!
    How vast is the sum of them! Were I to count them,
    they would outnumber the grains of sand—
    when I awake, I am still with you …(Psalm 139)

 

Watering Today: Prov. 24; ps 24, 124; Isaiah 40-42; 1 Peter 1- 3

DSCN2854

Leave a Reply

