The Promise Giver

dreamsjeet_senWatering:

When Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting, the baby leaped in her womb, and Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit. In a loud voice she exclaimed: “Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the child you will bear! But why am I so favored, that the mother of my Lord should come to me? As soon as the sound of your greeting reached my ears, the baby in my womb leaped for joy. Blessed is she who has believed that the Lord would fulfill his promises to her!”

Watching:

“Blessed are you among women”…

Yes, Mary was blessed because…

well, duh, she was chosen, after all.

Mary was chosen by God almighty, creator of heaven and earth,

Mary was chosen in the fullness of time, finding favor with the one who commands the wind and the waves.

Mary was scrupulously hand-picked to be the loving, hovering, Jewish Mom to Jesus, God’s one and only baby boy – His promised messiah.

Yikes! Yes, she was blessed alright – no surprise there: you’d HAVE to be blessed to step into those shoes – blessed in every way. Blessed enough to be shielded from all the worries of motherly ‘mess ups’ of such a great task. Blessed enough to handle and process all the implications and unknowns. Blessed enough to be the servant you had asked to be.

Yet the Holy Spirit’s words to her, through Elizabeth, called her blessed for none of those reasons. Instead, God wanted to make it clear:

“Blessed is she who has believed that the Lord would fulfill his promises to her!”

 

Mary believed God.

 

… And she was blessed.

 

Blessed enough to cause new life

to jump for joy.

 

Wondering:

So I have to ask….What has God promised me, Jane Robin Sullivan Williams, that I believe?

Really believe.

I mean, “Empty-the-Bank-and-Lay-It-All-on-the-Table” believe.

Yes, I can look around and see all the blessings I’ve been given. Like Mary, I know the Lord has done great things. He has blessed me in so many ways I wouldn’t even be able to count…

But would the Holy Spirit be able to say about me:

“You are blessed because you have believed the Lord would fulfill His promise toward you.”

Would my faith in His promises cause the spark of Life,  hidden deep in another – to jump for joy?

And, if not…

could it be that I have concentrated so hard on the promises, that I’ve forgotten the Promise-Giver?

Waiting:

Lord, I believe.

Help my unbelief.

Watering Today: Prov. 16; Ps 16, 116; Luke 1

DSCN3300

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

