Case Closed

K7A1434F70FC78_1001487

Watering:

Psalm 26

Vindicate me, Lord,
    for I have led a blameless life;
I have trusted in the Lord
    and have not faltered.
Test me, Lord, and try me,
    examine my heart and my mind;
for I have always been mindful of your unfailing love
    and have lived in reliance on your faithfulness.

I do not sit with the deceitful,
    nor do I associate with hypocrites.
I abhor the assembly of evildoers
    and refuse to sit with the wicked.
I wash my hands in innocence,
    and go about your altar, Lord,
proclaiming aloud your praise
    and telling of all your wonderful deeds.

Lord, I love the house where you live,
    the place where your glory dwells.
Do not take away my soul along with sinners,
    my life with those who are bloodthirsty,
    in whose hands are wicked schemes,
    whose right hands are full of bribes.
I lead a blameless life;
    deliver me and be merciful to me.

My feet stand on level ground;
    in the great congregation I will praise the Lord.

Watching:

David is going all out: no holes barred. He is making his case that the Lord should help him … and laying it on thick and strong.

David is praying hard that the Lord doesn’t take away his soul

with sinners

and the bloodthirsty,

and those with wicked schemes

and those with hands full of bribes…

Wondering:

Um… David, so I just have to ask:

Did you write this before or after your

blood-thirsting,

wicked-scheming,

bribing self,

… lusted hard after Bathsheba?

 

I mean seriously, dude, “I wash my hands in innocence,” …?

“I lead a blameless life.” …?

Oh paahhleeeez!

Honestly, the arrogance self-confidence in this song, and the tales of David’s self righteous acts, is not only eyebrow raising,  but more than a little nauseous-making.

But then I read it again and am stopped in my too-quick-to-judge tracks:

Test me, Lord, and try me,
    examine my heart and my mind;
for I have always been mindful of your unfailing love
and have lived in reliance on your faithfulness.

 

David isn’t beginning this psalm with how great he is and why God should answer him,

but rather,

David is beginning this psalm knowing how weak he is, and why God will answer him.

He’s bringing his need to God and laying out his heart – his argument – for the Most High, merciful Judge:

1.  I am mindful – fully and knowingly aware – that YOUR love is unfailing.

(Even if my love fails, I have learned that yours will not.)

2.  I have lived my life reliant – fully on YOUR faithfulness.

(… because I am painfully aware of the weakness of my own.)

 

David isn’t tooting his own horn, he is acknowledging the all encompassing power of God’s.

And maybe the rest of the psalm is just brilliant self-talk. Maybe David is simply confessing the hope and truth of who God sees us to be:

Pure

Set apart

Innocent

Born to worship

Blameless

Delivered

…The object of God’s mercy and love.

 

And maybe in his closing statement, it’s David who’s convinced of what is truly important:

 

“My feet stand on level ground;

(Yes, I really can say that now)

and in the great congregation I will praise the Lord.”

(Case closed.)

Waiting:

Forever and always, Jesus, because of your unfailing love and your faithfulness, let me feel the level ground on which you’ve placed me. Let my life praise you. And let my hope in your love and faithfulness be my witness, and my eternal verdict.

 Watering Today: Prov. 26; ps 26, 126; Jeremiah 31-32; 1 John 4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D-zk-E55dRk

K7A1434F70FC78_1001113

 

Leave a Reply

