Still and Forever – a New Year’s reminder

DSCN2436

 Watering:

“There are three things that are never satisfied,
four that never say, ‘Enough!’:
the grave*, the barren womb*,
land, which is never satisfied with water*
and fire, which never says, ‘Enough!’*

Watching:

*  The certainty of the grave sits like the infamous elephant in the living room. The grave waits for all.

*  An empty womb lays barren of Hope.  There is no satisfaction in the loneliness of want.

*  Thirsty Land  – a baby bird with its mouth open. More. More. More.

*  Fire – all consuming – unable to stop its craving. I won’t stop until you stop me.

They all shout their cries:

Not enough. Not enough. Not enough!

Wondering:

Most of my life I’ve lived under the cursed words: “Not good enough.”

For too many years I listened to the words until they had become my own:

“What you do,

and how you do it,

and who you are

is not good enough.

And it will never be good enough.”

I strove. I anguished. I rebelled…I gave up.

I tried everything I knew to quiet the demon that held my ear and my heart for so long.

And then a gentle carpenter from Nazareth slayed the dragon for me.

Yet sometimes, still, I can  hear the echo of the dragon’s taunt:

You’re not good enough – you are an empty grave waiting.

You’re not good enough– you are an empty womb mourning.

You’re not good enough– you are a thirsty land panting.

You’re not good enough, Jane – you are a raging fire burning everything in its path.

But today, in this eve of new beginnings, I let the Dragon Slayer speak Truth again to me:

 Jesus is enough  – Death no longer waits for me. I am redeemed, bought by the blood of the lamb.

Jesus is enough – Christ in me, the hope of glory. Life given to me in abundance, filling every perceived hole.

Jesus is enough – Out of me will spring living waters.  I need never – Not. Ever. – be thirsty again for anything except Him.

Jesus is enough – His love is my consuming fire. He is producing gold in me.

… And I am satisfied.

What a sweet New Year’s reminder to know Jesus – still and forever –  sets us free.

 

Waiting:

Jesus,  you’re all I need for this new year. No, You are more than enough. In You I am complete. In You I am “good enough” … In you I live and move and have my being – I am made whole today, tomorrow and forever.

Watering today:

Prov 30; ps 30, 130, 60; Revelation 15-18

DSCN2373

Leave a Reply

