Day in, day out

DSCN2240

Watering:

Praise be to the Lord, to God our Savior, who daily bears our burdens. Our God is a God who saves; from the Sovereign Lord comes escape from death. (Psalm 68:19-20)

Watching:

God our Savior, daily bears our burdens.

Every day.

Day in. Day out.

Step by excruciating step. Some heart-breaking steps – some excruciatingly mundane.

God is our rescuer – our hero – the One who saves our lives

day after day… after every dawning day.

Wondering:

I try hard to run to the Lord. Everyday. I try hard to “keep Him in the loop” and meet with Him each morning for a debriefing. I try hard throughout the day to ‘check in’ and say hi…

How easy to be lulled into thinking that God’s love for me is dependent on: how hard I pray, what words I say, IF I pray.

How easy to be deceived into thinking that I’m the one doing all the necessary ‘work’ – you know, donning the robe of righteousness, putting on the armor, acting the “good and noble” Christian part.

How easy it is to think God is only really close when I press in, pray hard, and fall down on my face before Him

… it’s all about me, right?

And what about the daily humdrum days? The ‘nothing new, nothing exciting’ mundane madness? Those days when Life seems to have somehow put itself on hold? … surely it’s because I have to do more to earn the ‘annointing’ again, right?

But this Breath of Life says that it’s GOD doing the work:

Praise be to the Lord, to God our Savior, who daily bears our burdens. Our God is a God who saves; from the Sovereign Lord comes escape from death.

It’s the LORD who daily carries my baggage. He bears it all: the spilled milk, the sideways look, the overdue bills, the tick-tock of a deadend job, the sky high laundry, the self-doubt, the over confidence, the fickle fear – the fierce kind too.

It is the LORD who waits for me, who comforts me. It is HE who runs to me when I turn, who listens to me when I call, who disciplines me when I grumble and finds me when I stray.  It is the Great I AM who guides me along the right path for His namesake. It is Jesus, the Good Shepherd, the Savior of the world, who daily bears the burden of me,

loving me,

showing me escape routes all along the way

– saving me from myself-

every. single. day.

Waiting:

Lord, it  really is all about you… and I am humbled by your great love.

Watering today:

Prov. 12; ps 12, 112, 68; Genesis 31-33; John 12

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZ-fghqc8Oo

DSCN2352

 

Leave a Reply

