Out of the Shadow

P1030054

Watering

“Have Aaron your brother brought to you from among the Israelites, along with his sons…, so they may serve me as priests. Make sacred garments for your brother Aaron to give him dignity and honor. Tell all the skilled workers to whom I have given wisdom in such matters that they are to make garments for Aaron, for his consecration, so he may serve me as priest. These are the garments they are to make: a breastpiece, an ephod, a robe, a woven tunic, a turban and a sash. They are to make these sacred garments for your brother Aaron and his sons, so they may serve me as priests. (Exodus 28:1-5)

Watching:

It must have been hard living in the shadows of a brother like Moses…

…  you love him, you are his biggest fan, but you are not quite sure where you fit in with a life left anemic in his shadow.

But then the Lord God almighty himself sends skilled workers and clear directions to Moses to make sure priestly garments are made for Aaron and his sons to “give him dignity and honor.”

Priestly garments, the first work uniform ever — carefully and intricately designed by God — made specifically for Aaron! Aaron the brother of the great and powerful Moses. Aaron the go-to sidekick. Aaron, God’s second choice for spokesman.

These were holy, sacred, BIG DEAL garments.

God knew Aaron. He ‘got’ it. He brought him out of the shadows and designed a place and purpose all his own.

Wondering:

I grew up in the shadow of an exuberant, loveable brother. Everyone loved (loves) Kit… and no one more than me. He was full of energy. Full of life and stories. A fun-loving, fun to be around, overall good guy.

And then there was me: quiet, socially awkward, and not-all-that-fun me.

Yet Jesus searched for me, and found me. And, not only that, He found me first.

He clothed me with skillfully made and hard-won robes of righteousness. He picked me up out of the mud and set my feet on a rock. He brought me out of the shadows into His light with a purpose all my own.

He gave me His hand and then gave me the unparalleled honor of ushering my brother into His arms. He ‘got’ it. He gets me.

He gets you.

God loves us… for who we are, and who He’s made us to be.

Waiting:

Jesus, You love me, and know the deepest, most tender part of me. You lift my head and make me stand. You know the deepest part of me, and you love me all the same. I need nothing else but you.

2admin-ajax.php

Watering today: Prov. 30; ps 30, 130, 60; Exodus 28-29; Acts 7

One comment on “Out of the Shadow

  1. Pat Whitson says:

    Like you with Kit is how I often felt in the past especially contrasted with our sis Jeane. What an an awesome reflection you shared here sis, so inspiring for all those who read it who have ever felt they move in the shadows of someone more noticeable or popular than themselves… Never never so to the Lord Who leaves the herd to find the one by herself off alone..

Leave a Reply

