What Sayeth you? (Part 1)

hidingjimeejackietomasha

Watering:

Then he said to them all: “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me. For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will save it. (Luke 9)

Watching:

The disciples are having quite a day! Jesus has sent them out (with no provisions) to “drive out demons and cure diseases, to proclaim the kingdom of God and heal the sick.”

And when they come back all pumped with experiencing the power of His name, they face a hungry crowd of 500+ (… which Jesus then says they are to feed – with only laughable provisions.)

Yet Jesus isn’t laughing… because He knows:

what we think is “not enough” is all God needs to make everything more.

So, par usual, Jesus models his lesson:

First, he gives thanks, then He takes the meager and delivers the miraculous.

And for that proof we all crave, He makes them count the leftovers –  the “spoils” that come with trusting and thanking God.

Yet, the day’s not over and Jesus has not yet summarized His teaching “point.”

So, he asks the question:

Okay, so now, who does the crowd say I am?

… and what about you? Who do you say I am?

Wondering:

As a teacher and a mom, how many times have I heard kids tell me what someone else thinks or what someone else has done. But Jesus wants to make it clear:

What others say is theirs to say, but right here, right now, I’m asking you

…what do YOU say?

Who do you say I am… when you’re asked to do miracles with “only” my  name as your provision?

Who do you say I am… when you’re sure what you have is “laughable” and certainly not enough?

Who do you say I am … when life is bubbling over with everything Good and everything God and suddenly a crowd of neediness comes your way and spoils your fun? What sayeth you then?

And what sayeth you now?

Have you forgotten to thank God in all things, break bread with a needy crowd… and give from your lack?

Who do you say I am to you, really?

(Oh, and by the way, I will always keep asking.)

 

Waiting:

Lord, you are the son of the living God, and you have words of eternal life. Help me live them.

Watering Today: Prov 9; ps 9, 109, 99, 90; Luke 9; Lamentations 9; Acts 9

mudhandupmarkdumont

One comment on “What Sayeth you? (Part 1)

  1. […] to top off such a full and amazing day, Jesus brings it all back to what matters, “Who do you say that I am?” With excitement bubbling over, their hearts burst with the Truth, “You are the Holy One. […]

Leave a Reply

